Kirkby Wharfe, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Kirkby Wharfe

Guide to Kirkby Wharfe, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kirkby Wharfe, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barkstone-Ash
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Great Preston Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Tadcaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1583
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery City of York and Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Wetwang
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KIRKBY-WHARFE (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Barkstone-Ash, W. riding of York, 2¼ miles (S. E. by S.) from Tadcaster. At Ulleskelf is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Kirkby Wharfe exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
KIRKBY WHARFE PARISH (1710) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1860-1888 1860-1888 1754-1930 1754-1930 1813-1876 1813-1876
FS 1710-1868
1710-1849
None


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1583.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464249.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 640-643. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 2 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,564 times.