Kirkby Wiske, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kirkby Wiske)

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Kirkby Wiske

Guide to Kirkby Wiske, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kirkby Wiske, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Birdforth; East Gilling
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Thirsk PLU
Registration District Thirsk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1616
Bishop's Transcripts: 1637
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Richmond
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Kirkby Wiske is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. 

Other places in the parish include: Maunby, Sowber Hill, Newsham with Breckenbrough, and Newby Wiske. 
Non-Church of England denominations identified in Kirkby Wiske include: Wesleyan Methodist and Wesleyan Methodist Reform.

KIRBY-WISK (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Thirsk, partly in the wapentake of Birdforth, and partly in that of Gilling-East, N. riding of York. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are at least two Internet sites with name lists or indexes. These popular sites are:

  1. FreeBMD
  2. YorkshireBMD.org.uk

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Kirkby Wiske exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)

KIRKBY WISKE PARISH (1615) Online Records


Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1615-1879 1615-1879 1615-1885 1615-1885 1615-1871 1615-1871
FS None 1615-1885 None
JOIN None 1800-1837 None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464229.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 689-692. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 2 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 194 times.