Kirkby in Ashfield, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1620
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KIRKBY-IN-ASHFIELD, a village and a parish in Basford district, Notts. The village stands 1 mile W of Kirkby r. station, 1½ E of the boundary with Derbyshire, and 5 SW of Mansfield; is a large place; and has. a post office, of the name of Kirkby, under Mansfield. The parish includes also the village of Kirkby-Folly and the hamlet of Kirkby-Woodhouse. There are chapels for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Kirkby in Ashfield St Wilfrid is an Ancient parish in the town which included Kirkby Woodhouse and Kirkby Folly in the parish boundary.

The parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with its neighbour Pinxton, Derbyshire.

The church of St Wilfrid is 13th century in origin but was rebuilt in 1908 after destruction by fire in 1907 and has been designated a grade II listed building by English Heritage British listed building It is also known locally as St Luke. see also St Wilfrid Wikipedia Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of the church and parish Kirkby-in-Ashfield St Wilfrid

From this parish was formed the parish of Kirkby Woodhouse St John see St John the Evangelist Wikipedia

From this parish was formed the Ecclesisatical parish of [Eat Kirkby] Kirkby in Ashfield St Thomas built in 1903.

See also Kirkby-in-Ashfield Wikipedia

Resources

Kirky in Ashfield - Kingsway Cemetery

Transcription of Memorial Inscriptions, - Alphabetical listing of surname, given name, relationship, sometimes birth date, date of death and age, in the Kingsway Cemetery dating from 1877.  Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine, vol. 89, pages 1-24, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Kirkby in Ashfield St Wilfrid parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
KIRKBY IN ASHFIELD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1621-1962 Marriages 1621-1963 Burials 1621-1950

Kirkby Woodhouse St John

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1860-1931 Marriages  1901-1947 Burials 1861-1911

Kirkby in Ashfield (East) St Thomas

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1893-1952 Marriages 1903-1958

Kirkby in Ashfield (East) St Andrew

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1922-1960 Marriages 1935-1961
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kirkby in Ashfield

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438905.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 15:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,430 times.