Kirkham, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Kirkham, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Here is A Comprehensive List of Kirkham Parishes and Chapelries.

Kirkham, Lancashire
St Michael's Church, Kirkham Lancashire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Fylde PLU
Registration District Fylde; Garstang; Preston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1678
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KIRKHAM (St Michael), a market-town and parish, in the union of the Fylde, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of the county of Lancaster west by north of Preston. Other places in the parish include: Whittingham, Wharles, Brown Moss, Bryning with Kellamergh, Esprick, Great Plumpton, Greehalgh with Thistleton, Greenalgh with Thistleton, Greenhalgh, Larbreck, Little Eccleston, Little Eccleston with Larbreck, Little Ecclestone with Larbrick, Little Plumpton, Medlar with Wesham, Newsham, Newton with Scales, Roseacre, Roseacre and Wharles, Thistleton, Treals, Treals, Roseacre and Wharles, Westby, Westby with Plumpton, Westby with Plumptons, and Ballam.[1]

The earliest evidence of a church on the site is in 684 AD. The fabric of the present church dates from 1822 when the nave, designed by Robert Roper, an architect from Preston, was built. In 1844 the tower and spire, designed by the Lancaster architect Edmund Sharpe, were added at the west end. In 1853 the chancel was rebuilt, probably by Joseph Hansom, to make the altar visible from the nave. The north and south galleries were removed in the middle of the 20th century and the area under the west gallery has been turned into a separate room. In 2004 it was discovered that the spire had developed structural problems because the iron ties reinforcing the stones had corroded. An appeal to repair the spire was launched and the work is now complete.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Kirkham St Michael's parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
KIRKHAM ST MICHAEL'S PARISH (1539) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1540-1653; 1868-1896 1539-1653;1868-1874  None
LOPC 1678-1932 1539-1653;1678-1875 1678-1775; 1834-1932
FMP  None 1539-1837 None
LBMD 1837-1974 1837-2010 1837-1975
AC 1539-1653 1539-1653 1539-1653
BARTON ST LAWRENCE Chapelry (1850) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1850-1896 1850-1900 None
LOPC 1850-1910 1850-1928 1850-1946
LBMD  None 1850-2004  None
AC


GOOSNARGH ST MARY THE VIRGIN Chapelry (1639) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1639-1900 1639-1900  None
LOPC 1672-1957 1683-1900 1683-1967 
LBMD None None None
AC 1639-1812 1639-1812 1639-1812
HAMBLETON BLESSED VIRGIN MARY Chapelry (1695) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1692-1879 1838-1900 1813-1879 
LOPC 1695-1900 1695-1900 1695-1914
LBMD  None 1838-1995  None
AC 1695-1812 1695-1812 1695-1812
GREAT & LITTLE SINGLETON Chapelry (1841) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None  None
LOPC 1841-1900 1851-1900 1841-1900
LBMD  None None None
LUND Chapelry (1840) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None  None
LOPC None None None
FMP  None None None
RIBBY UPON WREA St Nicholas Chapelry (1716) Indexes (see St Michaels) 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None  None
LOPC None None 1847-1900 
FMP  None None None
WARTON Chapelry (1848) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None  1848-1858, 1865, 1868
LOPC None None None
FMP  None None None
WEETON with PREESE ST MICHAEL Chapelry (1850) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1873 1850-1900 1872-1873
LOPC None 1850-1900 1850-1900
FMP  None 1850-1982 None
WHITECHAPEL ST JAMES Chapelry (1819) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1820-1872 1838, 1844, 1854-1855 1823-1830, 1835-1872
LOPC 1818-1838 1854-1949 1818-1900
LBMD  None 1854-2004 None

Original Records

Original copies of the parish registers for Kirkham St Michael and its attached smaller chapelries' registers are held at the Lancashire Record Office, Bow Lane, Preston, PR2 1RE.

In addition, the Family History Library, at FamilySearch in Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A. also has microfilm copies of these originals and these may be circulated to any one of its 4,600 satellite FamilySearch Centres worldwide.

Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306886.


Poor Law Unions

Fylde Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, A Topographical Dictionary of England Published A Fullarton Co. Edinburgh (1848), pp. 697-701. Adapted.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:15.
  • This page has been accessed 3,739 times.