Kirkhaugh, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Kirkhaugh, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kirkhaugh, Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Haltwhistle PLU
Registration District Haltwhistle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1810
Bishop's Transcripts: 1760
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bellingham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KIRKHAUGH, a parish, in the union of Haltwhistle, W. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 2½ miles (N. W. by N.) from AlstonMoor.[1]

Additional information:

Kirkhaugh the Church of the Holy Paraclete . The Holy Paraclete is the Holy Spirit as embodied in the dove. “Paraclete” is translated from the Greek “paracletos” which means “the one who stands along side you to help you”. There is no other church in England bearing this dedication. The Church was designed by the rector, Octavius James, without the benefit of an architect in 1849 although it occupies a very ancient site and is mentioned in medieval writings. The 1851 census shows Octavius James and his family at Clarghyll Hall about two miles away from the Church but across the Ayle Bum in Cumberland.

Resources

Sadly Kirkhaugh lost both her rector and her records in a fire at Clarghyll Hall in 1898. Parish Records are therefore of limited use to those researching ancestors. The Bishop's Transcripts are therefore valuable due to the loss of material.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Church Records

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Rothbury Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 730 times.