Kirkheaton, Northumberland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Kirkheaton, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Kirkheaton St Bartholomew Northumberland
|Poor Law Union||Castle Ward PLU|
|Registration District||Castle Ward|
|Parish registers: 1814|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1861|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northumberland Record Office|
KIRKHEATON, a chapelry, locally in the parish of Kirkharle, union of Castle ward, N. E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 11½ miles (N. E. by N.) from Hexham.
Kirkheaton, St Bartholomew was created in 1753 as part of Chollerton, Northumberland St Giles and as a detached chapelry, then an extra parochial place and became a parish from 1814.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/157 Date: 1861-1862 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
Kirkheaton, St Bartholomew: Records of baptisms 1814-1984, marriages 1867-1976 and burials 1816-1983 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Kirkheaton is not included in the IGI or in Boyd's Marriage Index. Transcripts of baptisms 1814-1925, marriages 1867-1927 and burials 1816-1925 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Kirkheaton (microfiche TN80) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.
Early Wesleyan Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Hexham W.M. Circuit. Records for 1797-1836 can be seen at Northumberland Collections Service and are included on the IGI.
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 15:24.
- This page has been accessed 1,322 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News