Kirknewton, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Kirknewton, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kirknewton, Northumberland
St Gregory Kirknewton Northumberland.jpg
St Gregory Kirknewton Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Glendale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Glendale PLU
Registration District Glendale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1670
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bamburgh
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NEWTON, KIRK (St. Gregory), a parish, in the union of Glendale, W. division of Glendale ward, N. division of the county of Northumberland, 5¼ miles (W. by N.) from Wooler; The church, a neat structure with a campanile tower, was repewed in 1810.[1]

Additional information:

Kirknewton St Gregory the Great is an Ancient parish and includes: Akeld, Paston, West Paston, Selby's Forest,  Thornington, West Newton, Yeavering, Canna Mill, Coldsmouth and Thompson's Walls, Coupland, Crookhouse, Grey's Forest, Heathpool, Howtell, Kilham, Lanton, and Milfield.

A place of Christian worship has stood on this site since the eleventh century, possibly earlier. The parish church of Kirknewton was built in the 13th century, the chancel and south transept both date from the latter part of the fifteenth century, probably built with stones from the ruined Norman church. The church in its present form is the result of a restoration by John Dobson of Newcastle, completed in 1860.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/159 Date: 1762-1837
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.Kirknewton, St Gregory the Great: Records of baptisms 1684-1959, marriages 1670-1992 and burials 1710-1960 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1659-1875 and marriages 1678-1885 (with gaps) for this parish, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages 1762-1788 [from Bishops' Transcripts] for Kirknewton are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages 1762-1788 and of monumental inscriptions to 1850 are published in microfiche form by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society (microfiche PR202).

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438892.

Poor Law Unions

Glendale Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,200 times.