Kirkwhelpington, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Kirkwhelpington, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kirkwhelpington, Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Bellingham PLU
Registration District Bellingham; Castle Ward
Records begin
Parish registers: 1679
Bishop's Transcripts: 1760
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bellingham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WHELPINGTON, KIRK (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Bellingham, N. E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland with the townships of Great Bavington, Capheaton, Catcherside, Coldwell, Crogdean, Fawns, Little and West Harle, and West Whelpington. There is a place of worship for Presbyterians in connexion with the Church of Scotland; and a national school is supported.[1]

Additional information:

Kirkwhelpington St Bartholomew is an Ancient parish and the present church is believed to date from the 13 th century although is is believed that it was origunally cruciform in shape. The churches in Kirkwhelpington parish date to the medieval period. St Bartholomew’s dates from the 13th century and St Wilfred’s Kirkhale was built in the 14th century. Natural water sources, such as St George’s and St Mary’s Wells, also had religious significance and have become known as holy wells. MM

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/160 Date: August [1748]-January [1749], 1760-1853  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Kirkwhelpington, St Bartholomew: Records of baptisms 1679-1895, marriages 1684-1983 and burials 1684-1885 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1679-1812 and marriages 1684-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1684-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1679-1812 and marriages and burials 1684-1812 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Kirkwhelpington (microfiche TN79) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Nonconformist Records
  • Capheaton (Roman Catholic): Records of baptisms 1769-1785, marriages 1769-1785 and deaths 1769-1785 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes births/baptisms 1760-1784. Transcripts of baptisms 1760-1784, marriages 1782 and burials 1774-1785 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.
  •  Bavington (Presbyterian): Records of births/baptisms 1754-1932 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes births/baptisms 1754-1882.

Early Primitive Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Hexham P.M. Circuit. Records for 1824-1837 are included on the IGI (listed as Bull Bank or Bethania Chapel). Early Wesleyan Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Hexham W.M. Circuit. Records for 1797-1836 can be seen at Northumberland Collections Service and are included on the IGI.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.

Poor Law Unions

Bellingham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 18:26.
  • This page has been accessed 783 times.