Kit Carson County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Kit Carson County, Colorado ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngKit Carson County

Kit Carson County Carousel.jpg In Burlington, Colorado a 1905 carousel is a National Historic Landmark.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Kit Carson County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Kit Carson County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 11, 1889
County Seat Burlington
Courthouse
Address Kit Carson County Courthouse
251 16th St
Burlington, CO 80807-0249
Phone: 719.346.8638
Kit Carson County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1889
and burial records from 1902; Clerk District Court has
birth, death, divorce, probate and court records[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1893*
1889*
1892*
1889
1889
1889
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Burlington [2]

Parent County

1889--Kit Carson County was created 11 April 1889 from Elbert County.

Neighboring Counties

Cokitcarson.jpg

Record Loss

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Kit Carson County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Court Records

Kit Carson County Old Age Pension Records 1933-1936. An Index compiled from the offical record of the applications granted by the Kit Carson County Commissioners during these years. Record may show the following:

  • Name of Applicant
  • Date and Amount of pension payment
  • Any adjustments to the pension
  • Person's age
  • Town nearest to where they lived
  • Other Actions done by the County

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local History

Local histories are available for Kit Carson County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.


Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Kit Carson County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:


Digital images of the Kit Carson County Record (1910-1912) can be found at 

http://www.coloradohistoricnewspapers.org/

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.


Public Records

School Records

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Kit Carson County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968
Kit Carson County Birth Report Register 1892 - 1907
Kit Carson County Death Register 1893 - 1907
Kit Carson Cou nty Land Registration Receipts 1913 - 1939
Kit Carson County Old Age Pension 1933 - 1936

Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Colorado Vital Records Search

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [3]

Marriage
Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [3]

Divorce

Family Search has an index that you can browse for Colorado Divorces (Statewide) for 1900 - 1939.

Populated Places

Bethune

Burlington

Flagler

Seibert

Stratton

Vona

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kit Carson County, Colorado. Page 99 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 18:41.
  • This page has been accessed 6,511 times.