Knaresborough, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Knaresborough

Guide to Knaresborough, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Knaresborough, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Claro
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Knaresborough PLU
Registration District Knaresborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boroughbridge
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Knaresborough; Court of the Peculiar of the Honour of Knaresborough; Court of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Boroughbridge; Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KNARESBOROUGH (St. John the Baptist), a borough, market-town, and parish, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Claro, W. riding of York; comprising the chapelries of Arkendale, and Bilton with High Harrogate, and the townships of Brearton, Knaresborough, and Scriven with Tentergate. The Independents, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics have places of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
KNARESBOROUGH PARISH (1653) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1670-1839 None 1670-1836 None None
JOIN None None 1670-1836 None None None
Harrogate Christ Church Chapelry (1653) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
AC 1653-1910 1653-1910 1653-1935 1653-1935 1653-1916 1653-1916
FREG 1748-1838 1759-1812
Harrogate St Mark Chapelry (1717) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
AC 1717-1910 1717-1910 1717-1935 1717-1935 1717-1812 1717-1812
Arkendale CHAPELRY (1769) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1769-1901 1837-1856 1837-1863
JOIN None None None
FMP None None None
HATH None None None
IARC None None None
BREARTON CHAPELRY (1837) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1837-1867

1838-1850

1837-1867

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1691 (St. John), and 1856 (Holy Trinity).


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464250.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 701-706. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 2,254 times.