Knaresdale, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Knaresdale, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Knaresdale, Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Haltwhistle PLU
Registration District Haltwhistle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: 1769
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hexham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KNARESDALE, a parish, in the union of Haltwhistle, W. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 6 miles (N. W. by N.) from Alston-Moor. The church is on a dry knoll; There are two places of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Knaresdale St Jude was an ancient parish and the 14th century church was demolished in the 19th century for a replacement church. Knaresdale church history includes the following dispute about a memorial in the church yard:

Hodgson's History of Northumberland Pt II Vol III page 80

"We hide the following disgraceful doggerel on a tombstone, near the church door of Knaresdale in the smallest type our printer's office affords:-
"In memory of Robert Baxter, of Far-house, who died Oct 4 1796, aged 56. Also of etc.
All you who please these lines to read,
It will cause a tender hearts to bleed;
I murdered was upon the fell,
And by the man I knew full well;
By bread and butter which he laid,
I being harmless, was betrayed.
I hope he will remembered be
That laid that poison there for me."
This Robert Baxter, on his way home to his sheep on the fell, found some bread and butter, neatly folded up in paper, and soon after eating it, was seized with violent convulsions, and died - under the belief that a malicious neighbour, with whom he had lately quarrelled, had in it laid a poisoned bait to kill him; and though the report was current and much believed, no inquest was holden on his body - (Mack. ii 320). A tombstone, bearing some doggerel calumnies, was refused, by the incumbent, to be put up in the chapel-yard in Heworth; but in his absence in London, in 1819, to procure funds to re-build the chapel, it obtained forcible entrance, and was set up; and he found he could not remove it. Certainly, some easy remedy should exist for such foul indecencies."

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/161 Date: 1769-March 1856  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Knaresdale, St Jude: Records of baptisms 1695-1863, marriages 1695-1955 and burials 1695-1887 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1695-1812 and marriages 1703-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1701-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1695-1812, marriages 1701-1812 and burials 1695-1812 for Knarsdale are available in the Local Studies Departments of Newcastle Central Library and Gateshead Central Library. A transcript of monumental inscriptions for Knarsdale (up to 1910) is available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

Nonconformist Records

Early Wesleyan Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Alston W.M. Circuit. Records for 1810-1951 can be seen at Cumbria Record Office in Carlisle.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.

Poor Law Unions

Haltwhistle Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 18:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,014 times.