Knightsbridge Holy Trinity, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Knightsbridge Holy Trinity, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

KNIGHTSBRIDGE, a chapelry, partly in the parish of St. George, Hanover-square, liberty of the city of Westminster, and partly in the parish of Kensington and Chelsea, Kensington division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex. The chapel, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, and now a chapel of ease. The present building was erected in 1789. A district church dedicated to St. Paul,the site of which was given by the late Marquess of Westminster, has been erected in Wilton-place Here is a place of worship for Baptists.[1]

Knightsbridge, a quondam hamlet, now a metropolitan suburb, and three chapelries, [all lying with-]in the City of Westminster parishes of St George Hanover Square, and (probably especially in the parish of) St Margaret Westminster, and in the parish of Kensington, and Chelsea.

Here's a list of chapels all associated with and contiguous to this chapelry (Holy Trinity Knightsbridge):

  • Lazar House or hospital Chapel, (Holy Trinity) Albert Gate - 1595. (later became Holy Trinity Ch. 1861)
  • St Paul Chapel Wilton Plc - 1840 (see also chapelry of St Barnabas Pimlico, in St Geo. Hanover Sq.)
  • All Saints Church - 1849
  • St George's Hospital Grosvenor Place chapel - 1733

By 1870, a Baptist chapel was built in this hamlet.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Knightsbridge Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
1658
.
Images
Indexes 1658-1680 findmypast[3]
1658-1681 TheGenealogist[4]
1658-1681 Ancestry[5]
1695-1752 BritishOrigins[6]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438834.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Knightsbridge in St George Hanover Square on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 706-708 Adapted. Date accessed: 13 February 2014.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (Edinburgh: A. Fullerton and Co., 1870). Digital version at of Britain. Adapted.
  3. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  4. 'London Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 12 December 2011.
  5. 'About Middlesex, England, Extracted Parish Records,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2012.
  6. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:54.
  • This page has been accessed 1,436 times.