Knonau parish, Zürich, SwitzerlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Back to Zürich in Switzerland

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Knonau

Baaregg
Bahnwärterhaus
Bergli
Binzmatt
Boxmatt
Brünneli
Buchhof

Bühl
Hinter-Uttenberg
Hirzrain
Knonau
Langacker
Marchstein
Mittel-Uttenberg

Müsli
Rossi
Schloss
Stiegenbühl
Vorder-Uttenberg
Weid
Weingarten

Surrounding Parishes

Cham (Zug)
Kappel am Albis
Maschwanden
Mettmenstetten
Steinhausen (Zug)

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Knonau:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 1 261
1637 1185141 2 471
1640 1185143 1 615
1643 1185145 1 599
1649 1185149 1 281
1657 1185179 1 25
1670 1185153 1 623
1678 1185152 3 971
1683 1185158 3 265
1689 1185164 1 545
1695 1185168 2 75
1700 1185168 2 89
1708 1185170 1 11
1721 1185176 1 65
1750 1185176 1 65

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Knonau families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Knonau belongs to the Bezirk Affoltern civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Bezirkszivilstandsamt Affoltern
Gemeindezentrum
Zivilstandskreis
Marktplatz 1
CH - 8910 Affoltern am Albis

Tel: +41 44 762 56 65

email: zivilstandsamt@affoltern-am-albis.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Knonau prior to 1875:

Baumann
Frey
Frick
Grob
Gut (1870, from Rümlang)
Huber
Huser
Leuthold

Meili
Obschlager
Schweizer
Spörri
Syz
Walder
Weilenmann
Weiss (1837, from Affoltern am Albis)

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2014, at 20:42.
  • This page has been accessed 388 times.