Knowlton, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Knowlton, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Knowlton, Kent
Knowlton St Clement Kent.jpg
Knowlton St Clement Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eastry
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry PLU
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1711
Bishop's Transcripts: 1569
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KNOWLTON (St. Clement), a parish, in the union and hundred of Eastry, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 4¼ miles (S. E.) from Wingham.[1]
Knowlton is a hamlet and civil parish ( now abolished) which is now within Goodnestone civil parish in the Dover district of Kent, see Knowlton Kent Wikipedia

Knowlton St Clement was an Ancient Parish and is a redundant Anglican church in the village of Knowlton, Kent in the care of the Churches Conservation trust. See St Clement's Church Knowlton Wikipedia and Churches Conservation Trust

The church has been designated a Grade I listed building by English Heritage. The church dates from the 14th century and was the private chapel to Knowlton Court which later became a Parish Church and was restored in 1855 by William White.British Listed Building

The church has been cared for by the Churches Conservation Trust since 1 December 1991.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 10 (1800), pp. 87-94 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

Eastry Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Knowlton, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
Knowlton, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1749-1812 1749-1812 1756-1838 1756-1838 1750-1976 1750-1976

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is {{{1}}}.

Census Returns for Knowlton 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 708-710. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,519 times.