Knowsley, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Knowsley, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Knowsley, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Prescot PLU
Registration District Prescot
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1844
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Prescot
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

KNOWSLEY, a township, with a chapel erected in 1843, is dedicated to St. Mary. It was built within the parish of Huyton, union of Prescot, hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 3¼ miles northwest of Prescot.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Knowsley chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Huyton to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


KNOWSLEY ST MARY Chapelry (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1856-1879 None None
LOPC 1844-1920 1844-1968 1844-1946
LBMD  None 1837-2006 None
FR 1844-1877 None None
HUYTON BY ROBY ST  MICHAEL(ancient parish containing KNOWSLEY Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1578-1727 1587-1726 None
LOPC 1578-1727 1587-1726 1587-1727
LBMD  None 1837-2006 None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Knowsley and comprising the whole ancient parish of Huyton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the HUYTON ST MICHAEL PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306900.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 708-710. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,285 times.