Knox, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png New York Gotoarrow.png Albany County Gotoarrow.png Town of Knox

Knox, New York
Map
Map of Albany County highlighting Knox
Location in Albany County
Map of New York highlighting Albany County
Albany County's location in the state of New York
Facts
Founded 1822
Website: www.knoxny.org/

Contents

Quick Facts

Resources

Biography

  • Helderberg Hilltowns (Rensselaerville, Berne, Knox, Westerlo) wiki for history and genealogy including biographies and stories, cemeteries, churches, images, maps, and organizations.

Cemeteries

Knox Cemeteries
Frink Cemetery
Knox Cemetery
High Point Cemetery
Lee Church Cemetery
Old Knox Cemetery
Quay Road Cemetery

Church Records

Online Church Databases

  • Helderberg Hilltowns (Rensselaerville, Berne, Knox, Westerlo) wiki for history and genealogy including biographies and stories, cemeteries, churches, images, maps, and organizations.

Original Church Records

  • Adam Cminse. Record of baptisms and marriages, St. James Evangelical Lutheran Church, Guilderland, New York, 1784-1873 ((Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1941). FHL Film 117678 Item 2

Genealogy

  • Helderberg Hilltowns (Rensselaerville, Berne, Knox, Westerlo) wiki for history and genealogy including biographies and stories, cemeteries, churches, images, maps, and organizations.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

The town of Knox does not have a library but check out the Upper Hudson Library System of which Albany County is a part of, to locate the towns close to Knox that have public libraries.

Albany Public Library
Main Library
161 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12210
Phone: 518-427-4300
Fax: 518-449-3386
E-mail: plweb@albanypubliclibrary.org

Genealogical Resources: Albany History Room hours differ from regular library hours. Pruyn Collection of Albany History housed in the Albany History Room of the library. Collection includes city directories, newspapers, and census records on film and online.

Societies

Knox Historical Society
P.O. Box 11
Knox, NY 12107
Phone: 518–872-2082
Email: knoxhistorical@hotmail.com

Town Clerk

Knox Town Clerk
Knox Town Hall
PO Box 116
Knox, NY 12107
Phone: 518–872-2551

Town Historian

Knox Town Historian
PO Box 38
Knox, NY 12107
Phone: 518–872–2551
Email: knoxhistorical@hotmail.com

Town Records

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Knox, New York check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


References

Places



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 April 2012, at 20:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,926 times.