Knox County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Knox County

Guide to Knox County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Knox County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded June 20, 1790
County Seat Hettinger
Courthouse
Address Knox County Courthouse
101 N 7th Street
Vincennes, IN 47591
Phone: 812.885.2521
Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1806*
1882*
1783
1790
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Henry Knox.JPG

The county is named for General Henry Knox (1750-1806), Revolutionary War hero, and the nation's first Secretary of War.[1]

  • Parent Counties: Formed from unorganized territory in 1790.[2]
  • County Seat: Vincennes[3]


Neighboring Counties

Gibson  • Pike  • Daviess  • Greene  • Sullivan  • Crawford  • Lawrence  • Wabash


Knox CountySullivan CountyClay CountySpencer CountyGibson CountyDubois CountyMartin CountyGreene CountyClark CountyOwen CountyDaviess CountyPike CountyJasper CountyClay CountyWayne CountyEdwards CountyVigo CountyWabash CountyRichland CountyLawrence CountyCrawford CountyCumberland CountyWarrick CountyINKnox.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

January 1814 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Knox County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


Catholic

St. Francis Xavier Parish, Vincennes

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Vincennes

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Knox County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Register of Negor Slaves and Masters for 1805-1807: Know County, Indiana Territory [Abstracted by June and Ruth Barekman]. - Chicago, Ill. : Bar(r)ackman-Ba(r)rickman-Barkman-Berekman Family Association, 1970. - 5 leaves. F3532.K6 B33 Register made from film at Fort Wayne Indiana Public Library; agreements between slaves and masters were found at Knox County, Ind. Court House at Vincennes.

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories
  • History of Knox and Daviess County, Indiana: from the earliest time to the present, with biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc., together with an extended history of the Colonial days of Vincennes, and its progress down to the formation of the State government. (1975. Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic, Inc.) 977.23 H2g FHL US/CAN Book  FHL Collection   other libraries   INTERNET ARCHIVE

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.


See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Knox County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Knox County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Knox County.

Civil War Books

  • "Military History" Chapter 9 in History of Knox and Daviess County, Indiana: from the earliest time to the present, with biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc., together with an extended history of the Colonial days of Vincennes, and its progress down to the formation of the State government. (1975. Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic, Inc.), ( page 204-212; Regiment, Companies) 977.23 H2g FHL US/CAN Book  FHL Collection   other libraries INTERNET ARCHIVE

World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918

  • World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 Knox County (Source: Explore Ancestry. com) ($)

World War II, 1941-1945

  • Knox County, Indiana World War II Casualties, Army and Army Air Corps (Source: AccessGenealogy)

Naturalization and Citizenship

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Knox County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Public Records

School Records

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Knox County Courthouse
101 N 7th Street
Vincennes, IN 47591
Phone: 812.885.2521

County Health Department has birth and death records from 1807.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1836.
County Recorder has land records. Township Trustees have burial records. [6]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Knox County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Knox County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:



Places

Web Sites

References

  1. "Henry Knox," Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henry_Knox.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Knox County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knox_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igiindianah.pdf.
  5. "Military History" Chapter 9 in History of Knox and Daviess County, Indiana: from the earliest time to the present, with biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc., together with an extended history of the Colonial days of Vincennes, and its progress down to the formation of the State government. (1975. Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic, Inc.),( page 228; Regiment,Companies)977.23 H2g FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraries INTERNET ARCHIVE
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Knox County, Indiana 214 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:00.
  • This page has been accessed 14,974 times.