Knox County, MaineEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Maine Gotoarrow.png Knox County

Guide to Knox County Maine genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Maine
Online Records
Knox County, Maine
Map
Map of Maine highlighting Knox County
Location in the state of Maine
Facts
Founded April 1, 1860
County Seat Rockland
Courthouse
Address Knox County Courthouse
62 Union Street PO Box 885
Rockland, ME 04841-0885
Phone: 207.594.9379
Knox County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Town Clerks have birth, marriage, and death records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records.
Probate Court has probate records from 1860.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1860.[1]
Gen. Henry Knox, U.S. Army

History

  • Named for American Revolutionary war general and Secretary of War, Henry Knox, who lived in the county from 1795 until his death in 1806.

Parent County

Created 1 April 1860 from Lincoln and Waldo counties. [1]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places / Localities

MaineKnox CountyLincoln CountyWaldo CountyKennebec CountyHancock CountyAppletonWashingtonUnionHopeCamdenRockportRocklandWarrenThomastonFriendshipCushingSt. GeorgeSouth ThomastonOwls HeadNorth HavenVinalhavenIsle au HautMatinicus Isle PlantationCriehavenMonhegan PlantationLouds IslandBristolBremenDamariscottaNobleboroWaldoboroJeffersonSomervilleHibberts GorePalermoChinaAlbionLibertyMontvilleFreedomKnoxMorrillSearsmontBelmontLincolnvilleNorthportBelfastWaldoBrooksSwanvilleSearsportStockton SpringsIsleboroSurryPenobscotCastineBrooksvilleSedgwickBlue HillBrooklinDeer IsleStonington
Modern town borders in Knox County, Maine. Towns with records are named in black. Unincorporated green places usually lack records.


Towns

Plantation:  Matinicus.  For further details see Maine plantations.

Extinct Town:[2]  Hurricane Isle[3]

Unorganized territory:  Criehaven.  For further details see Maine townships.

Communities

  • Camden
  • Thomaston

Villages

  • Hibberts Corner
  • Port Clyde

Neighboring Counties:  Hancock | Lincoln | Waldo

Resources

Cemeteries

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Main, Knox County Cemetery Records, (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Church

Court

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Maine, Knox County Probate Estate Files (FanilySearch Histoarical Records)

Gazetteers

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Probate

Taxation

Vital Records

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Maine, Knox County Cemetery Records, 1800-2007 (FamilySearch Historical Records)

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Knox County, Maine page 304, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Before an extinct town was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
  3. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 103. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 May 2013, at 11:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,913 times.