Knox County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Knox County

Guide to Knox County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Knox County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 14, 1845
County Seat Edina
Courthouse
Address Knox County Courthouse
107 N 4th Street
Edina, MO 63537
Phone: 660.397.2184
Knox County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



County Recorder has marriage, divorce, land records
Associate Circuit Judge has probate and court recorder;
Hisorical Society in Courthouse has birth and death
records 1883-1890[1]

History

Henry Knox.JPG

The county is named for General Henry Knox (1750-1806), Revolutionary War hero, and the nation's first Secretary of War.[2]

Parent County

1845--Knox County was created 14 February 1845 from Scotland County. County seat: Edina [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Adair  • Clark  • Lewis  • Macon  • Scotland  • Shelby

Knox CountyLewis CountyRalls CountyClark CountyScotland CountyMarion CountyShelby CountyMonroe CountyMacon CountyChariton CountyAdair CountyPutnam CountySchuyler CountyAppanoose CountyDavis CountyVan Buren CountyLee CountyMOKnox1.JPG


Resources

Biographies

All of the family biographies from the History of Knox County, Missouri (1887) by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free online at My Genealogy Hound.

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Knox County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of Lewis, Clark, Knox and Scotland Counties, Missouri : from the earliest time to the present...family . St. Louis : Goodspeed, 1887.

Maps

Moknox.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 21st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 21st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 21st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 27th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 39th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 11th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company L
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company K
- 50th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 50th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 50th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 50th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 50th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 50th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 50th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Knox County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1847, 1861-1869 - Knox County Birth Index, Volume 1, 1847, 1861-1869. Batch C515301 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriages
  • 1845-1881 - Knox County Marriage Book 1 Index 1845-1881. Batch M515301 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1881-1885 - Knox County Marriage Book 1 Index 1881-1885. Batch M515302 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Deaths

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Knox County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Knox County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Knox County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries


Social networking sites pertaining to Knox County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Knox County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Knox County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Knox County, Missouri. Page 401 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Henry Knox," Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henry_Knox.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 October 2014, at 17:57.
  • This page has been accessed 5,316 times.