Knox County, NebraskaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Knox County


Knox County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Nebraska
Online Records



Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Knox County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Knox County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 10, 1857
County Seat Center
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Knox County Courthouse
P.O. Box 166
Center, Nebraska 68742
Phone: 402.288.4282

Contents

County Courthouse

Knox County Courthouse
PO Box 166;
Center, NE 68724
Phone: 402.288.4282

County Clerk has marriage records.
County Judge has probate and court records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]

History

Henry Knox.JPG

The county is named for General Henry Knox (1750-1806), Revolutionary War hero, and the nation's first Secretary of War.[2]

Parent County

1857--Knox County was created 10 February 1857 from Pierce County and unorganized territory. County seat: Center [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

L'Eau Qui Court Cemetery is on land purchased on June 19, 1874 by the L'Eau Qui Court Cemetery Company. The company was formed to lay out and establish a cemetery in the vicinity of the town of Niobrara, Knox Co., Nebraska. No records are available from June 1874 to May 19, 1922. Louis Dose, the undertaker had all of those records in his possession. They were destroyed in a fire of the Opocensky Store in 1922. A new plat was creates, deeds recorded for lots purchased were marked on the new plat and the members of the Cemetery Board carefully searched the cemetery grounds marking every known grave on that plat. L'Eau Qui Court Cemetery is one of the oldest cemeteries in the state of Nebraska which was duly and legally organized as a cemetery association. It is the resting place for many of our war dead. Civil War veterans are resting in final peace in many of the plots. This cemetery has a grave of the "Unknown Soldier, Known Only to God". Many pioneers have returned to their native soil for their eternal resting place.

Census

For tips on accessing Knox County, Nebraska census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Knox County, Nebraska. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps

Neknox.png

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Knox County, Nebraska newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Adams - Probate records.

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Knox County, Nebraska page 431, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Henry Knox," Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henry_Knox.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 05:10.
  • This page has been accessed 3,818 times.