Knutsford, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Knutsford

Guide to Knutsford, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Knutsford St John the Baptist Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

KNUTSFORD (St. John the Baptist), is a parish, in the union of Altrincham, E. division of the hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester; it contains the townships of Bexton, Over Knutsford, Ollerton, and Toft. The Trent and Mersey canal and the Manchester and Birmingham railway pass within five miles of the town. The parish was formerly included in that of Rostherne, from which it was severed by act of parliament in 1744.  There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Presbyterians.[1]

Knutsford St John the Baptist was a chapel of ease in the parish of St Mary's Church,  Rostherne, Cheshire until the 18th century. It included Knutsford Over, Cross Town, Bexton, Toft, Ollerton, Over Knutsford, Nether Knutsford, Knutsford Superior, Knutsford Nether, and Knutsford Inferior.

In 1741 an Act of Parliament was obtained for it to become a distinct parish.The church  was built between 1741 and 1744 at a cost of £4,000, the architect being J. Garlive. In 1879 an apsidal chancel was replaced by a flat one by Alfred Darbyshire.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241234.

Church records

Knutsford St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Knutsford St John the Baptist Parish (1581) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1863-1867
1862-1867

CPR 1581-1871
1581-1871
1581-1871
FS PR's 1581-1912
  NONE
1581-1934
  NONE
1581-1967
  NONE
FS BT'S 1608-1885   NONE
1608-1867
  NONE
1608-1885
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Knutsford, St. John the Baptist (formerly St. Helena) (C of E), Church Hill. An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Bexton, Knutsford Inferior, Knutsford Superior, Ollerton and Toft. Registers of Baptisms 1582–1969, Marriages 1582–1970 and Burials 1582–1972 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Microfilm copy of original at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, Cheshire, England. Cheshire Record Office call no.: P7/1/1-5, P7/2/1-5, P7/3/1-8, P7/4/1-5, P7/3224/2/1-3.

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1582-1754. Baptisms, burials, 1752-1796. BRITISH 2045882
Baptisms, burials, 1796-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1928. BRITISH 2045883
Marriages, 1754-1911.  Banns, 1768-1769. Burials, 1813-1821. BRITISH 2045884
Burials, 1821-1942. Marriages, 1911-1924. BRITISH 2045885
Marriages, 1924-1952. Burials, 1941-1972. BRITISH 2262875 Items 6 - 8

Bishop's transcripts for St. John the Baptist Church, Knutsford, 1581-1867 Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 122.

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1581, 1607-1608, 1610, 1618, 1620, 1622-1623, 1625, 1627-1630, 1633-1634, 1640, 1663-1668, 1670-1676, 1678, 1680-1685, 1687-1689, 1691-1745, 1771-1801. BRITISH 1656841 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1771-1815, 1825, 1827-1861. Marriages, burials, 1862. BRITISH 1656842
Burials, marriages, 1862.  Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1863-1867. BRITISH 1656843 Item 1

Knutsford, St. Cross (C of E), Cross Street. Built in 1858, rebuilt in 1881. A separate parish from 1858 serving the township of Knutsford Superior. Registers of Baptisms 1858–1980, Marriages 1861–1987 and Burials 1858–1968 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Microfilm of originals in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester. Cheshire Record Office: EDB 121

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1858-1885, burials, 1858-1885. BRITISH 1647517 Item 2

Toft, St. John the Evangelist (C of E). The parish church for part of Knutsford Inferior from 1855. Churchwardens' accounts for the chapelry of Toft, 1746-1862 Notes Microreproduction of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England.
Toft is a township and a chapelry in Knutsford parish. Cheshire Record Office call no.: P209/6/1. 

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Churchwardens' accounts, 1746-1862. BRITISH 2106221 Item 1

Bishop's transcripts for Toft, 1855-1860 Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.
Toft is a chapelry in the parish of Knutsford.Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 205

Bishop's transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1855-1860. BRITISH 1647714 Item 4

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Knutsford, St. Vincent de Paul (Roman Catholic), Tatton Street. Founded 1866 in Queen Street, the present church was Built in 1927. Registers of baptisms 1861–1960, marriages 1869–1949 and burials 1866–1961 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Knutsford, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Princess Street. Founded 1797, Built in 1865. Registers 1801–1942 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Knutsford- Wesleyan, Princess Street
    Baptisms-1801-1837- MFPR 295.
    Baptisms Transcript-1837-1942- MFPR 340
    Marriages Transcript-1869-1918- MFPR 340 The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
    Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.ukThe Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
  • Knutsford, Unitarian Chapel, Brook Street. Built in 1688. Registers of births/baptisms 1827–72, marriages 1840–72 and burials 1827–72 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Knutsford- Brook Street Unitarian
    Baptisms-1792-1836- MFPR 295.
    Baptisms Transcript-1827-1969- MFPR 340
    Birth Index-1791-1826- MFPR 340
    Burial Index-1792-1821- MFPR 340
    Burials-1792-1836- MFPR 295.
    Burials Transcript-1827-1969- MFPR 340
    Marriages Transcript-1840-1950- MFPR 340 The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
    Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
    • Knutsford, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Brook Street. Built in 1806, closed in 1938. Records of baptisms, marriages and burials 1904–1937 are at the Cheshire Record Office.

Non-Conformist Records:

Church records, 1861-1961  Catholic Church. St. Vincent de Paul (Knutsford, Cheshire)  Microfilm copy of original filmed at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England. Most records contain Latin. Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 24/5248/1-5, 7-9.

Other Content FHL Film
Births and baptisms, 1861-1960 Marriages, 1869-1949 Burials, 1866-1961 VAULT BRITISH 2068191 Items 3-10


Church records, 1801-1837 Knutsford Chapel (Cheshire : Wesleyan)  Microfilm of original records at the Public Record Office, London Births and baptisms of Knutsford and Mobberley, Wesleyan Church, 1801- 1837.
RG-4 series no. 183.

Other Content FHL Film
Church records BRITISH 20048 Item 1

Church records, 1806-1837 Swinton Square Chapel (Knutsford, Cheshire : Independent)Knowles Green Chapel (Mobberley, Cheshire : Independent) Notes Microfilm of original records at the Public Record Office, London.

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms and births, 1806-1837. Includes records of Knowles Green Chapel, Mobberley. Another filming, 1991. BRITISH 1736978 Item 2

Church records, 1827-1969  Dissenters Chapel (Brook Street, Knutsford) Notes Microfilm of original records at the County Record Office, Worcester.

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1827-1969. Church records BRITISH 886623 Item 1

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •   Altrincham (1895–98)
  •  Bucklow (1898–1974)
  •  Macclesfield (1974–98)
  •  Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 22 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 September 2014, at 15:30.
  • This page has been accessed 3,705 times.