Kogi State, NigeriaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Nigeria Gotoarrow.png Kogi State, Nigeria

Guide to Kogi State, Nigeria ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


Contents

Information

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Kogi State
Kogi is a state in the north-central zone of Nigeria. It is popularly called the Confluence State because the confluence of River Niger and River Benue is at its capital, Lokoja, which is the first administrative capital of modern-day Nigeria. It was in Lokoja, while gazing out at the river that stretched before her, that Lord Lugard's wife coined the name "Nigeria." Lokoja is 2-hour drive from Abuja.

The state was formed in 1991 from parts of Kwara State and Benue State. The State as presently constituted comprises the peoples of the defunct Kabba Province of Northern Nigeria.

There are three main ethnic groups and languages in Kogi: Igala, Ebira, and Okun (similar to Yoruba) with other minorities like Bassa, a small fraction of Nupe mainly in Lokoja, Gwari, Kakanda, Oworo people (similar to Yoruba), ogori magongo and the Eggan community under Lokoja Local Government.

Local Government Areas

Resources

History

Websites

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 21:46.
  • This page has been accessed 967 times.