Kosciusko County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Kosciusko County

Guide to Kosciusko County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Kosciusko County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 7, 1835
County Seat Warsaw
Courthouse
Address Kosciusko County Courthouse
121 N Lake Street
Warsaw, IN 46580
Phone: 219.372.2331
Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1830*
1882*
1834
1836
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Kosciusko County, Indiana was named for General Kosciusko who was instrumental in winning the Revolutionary War. In 1781, General Green had laid siege to Ninety Six, in South Carolina. It was in this siege that the Polish General Kosciusko, who had joined the Army, particularly distinguished himself; his conduct on this and as on all other occasions contributed to win the highest esteem of General Washington.

Thaddeus Koscusko, so greatly distinguished in the American Revolution, was born in Lithuania in 1755, of an ancient and noble family, and educated at the military school in Warsaw. His studies were completed in France. By the recommendation of Ben Franklin, he came to America, where Washington appointed him as one of his aids. He was appointed an engineer, with the rank of Colonel in October, 1779. He fortified the camp of general Gates, in his campaign against Burgoyne, and was afterwards sent to West Point, to erect the works there. He stood high in the esteem of both the American and French Officers. He was admitted a member of the Cincinnati, and received the thanks of Congress for his service. At the close of the Revolutionary War, he returned to his native country and was made a Major General under Punistowski. He fought several battles with great bravery, but all his efforts were destroyed by the miserable conduct of the Polish diet.

He was made Generalissimo in 1794 at the outbreak of a new Revolution. He conducted the war with great bravery until he was overpowered and made prisoner by the Russians. The Russians carried him to St. Petersburg and Catharine kept him in close confinement. He was released at the death of Catherine. He was given honors and offered employment in the Russian Service which he declined. The Russian Emperor presented him his own sword but Kosciusko stated, “I no longer need a sword, since I have no longer a country.”

He visited the United States in 1797 and received a grant from Congress for his services. The latter part of his life was spent in Switzerland, where he died in 1817.

  • Parent Counties: Formed from unorganized territory (Cass/Elkhart/Grant) in 1835 (1836).[1]
  • County Seat: Warsaw[2]


Neighboring Counties

Elkhart  • Noble  • Whitley  • Wabash  • Fulton  • Marshall

La Grange CountyMiami CountyStarke CountyFulton CountyLa Porte CountyCarroll CountyPulaski CountyMarshall CountyCass CountyElkhart CountySt. Joseph CountyHuntington CountyNoble CountyWhitley CountyWabash CountyKosciusko CountyINKosciusko.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Kosciusko County, Indiana Biographies are available online.

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Kosciusko County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Kosciusko County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories
  • Royse, L. W. A Standard History of Kosciusko County, Indiana: An Authentic Narrative of the Past, with Particular Attention to the Modern Era in the Commercial, Industrial, Educational, Civic and Social Development : a Chronicle of the People with Family Lineage and Memoirs. (Agawan, MA: Bridgeport National Bindery, 2008.) 977.282 D3bi FHL US/CAN Book  FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Collection  other libraries
  • History of Kosciusko County - Likpendium

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Kosciusko County, Indiana Original Tract Book are available online.

Kosciusko County, Indiana Index to Deed Books 1 to 10: 1836- May, 1952 are availabe online.

Kosciusko County, Indiana Land Record Research are available online. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Kosciusko County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Kosciusko County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Kosciusko County.

Civil War Books

  • "The County In Three Wars" Chapter 12 in Royse, L. W. A Standard History of Kosciusko County, Indiana: An Authentic Narrative of the Past, with Particular Attention to the Modern Era in the Commercial, Industrial, Educational, Civic and Social Development : a Chronicle of the People with Family Lineage and Memoirs. (Agawan, MA: Bridgeport National Bindery, 2008.), ( page 203-253; Regiment) 977.282 D3bi FHL US/CAN Book  FHL Collection  other libraries       Family History Archives         INTERNET ARCHIVE

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Kosciusko County, Indiana Obituaries are online.

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Probate records are court records created after an individual’s death that relate to a court’s decisions regarding the distribution of the estate to the heirs or creditors and the care of any dependents. You may find the names of married daughters or other relatives and their residences; or information about the adoption or guardianship of minor children and dependents. Probate records do not always give an exact date of death, but the death usually occurred within four months of probate. These documents are important to family history researchers, because they usually exist for time periods before civil birth and death records were kept.

The Circuit Court has responsibility for the probate records of Kosciusko County.

The following Kosciusko County probate records have been indexed or abstracted:

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Kosciusko County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Kosciusko County, Indiana Voter's Registratoin Index for 1922 is available online.

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Kosciusko County Courthouse
121 N Lake Street
Warsaw, IN 46580
Phone: 219.372.2331

County Health Department has birth and death records from 1882.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1836.
County Recorder has land records
Township Trustees have burial records. [3]

Archives
Libraries

Kosciusko County Historical Society Genealogy Library

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Kosciusko County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the [Family History Center directory].


Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Kosciusko County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Birth Records

Kosciusko County, Indiana Birth Records from 1882-1920 are available online.

Kosciusko County, Indiana Delayed Birth Records1858-1935 are available online.

Marriage Records

Kosciusko County, Indiana Marriage Records from 1836-1921 are available online.

Kosciusko County, Indiana Divorce Records from 1908-1933 are available online.

Death Records

Kosciusko County, Indiana Death Records from 1882-1920 are available online.

Kosciusko County, Indiana County Farm Records, 1879-1953 are available online.

  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Kosciusko County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Places

Pierceton--Washington Township


Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Kosciusko County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kosciusko_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kosciusko County, Indiana 214 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:22.
  • This page has been accessed 12,496 times.