Kwara State, NigeriaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Kwara State, Nigeria ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|This Nigeria-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.|
InformationKwara State is one of the 36 states of Nigeria. Its capital is Ilorin and its governor is Bukola Saraki. The primary ethnic group of Kwara State is Yoruba, with significant Nupe, Bariba and Fulani minorities.
Kwara State was created on 27 May 1967, when the Federal Military Government of General Yakubu Gowon broke the four regions that then constituted the Federation of Nigeria into 12 states. At its creation, the state was made up of the former Ilorin and Kabba provinces of the then Northern Region and was initially named the West Central State but later changed to "Kwara", a local name for the River Niger.
Kwara State has since 1976 reduced considerably in size as a result of further state creation exercises in Nigeria. On 13 February 1976, the Idah/Dekina part of the state was carved out and merged with a part of the then Benue/Plateau State to form Benue State.
On 27 August 1991, five local government areas, namely Oyi, Yagba, Okene, Okehi and Kogi were also excised to form part of the new Kogi State, while a sixth, Borgu Local Government Area, was merged with Niger State.
Local Government Areas
- This page was last modified on 10 September 2015, at 14:29.
- This page has been accessed 1,750 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News