Kyloe, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Kyloe, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kyloe, Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Islandshire
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Berwick PLU
Registration District Berwick
Records begin
Parish registers: 1674
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KYLOE, a parish, in the union of Berwick-upon-Tweed, in Islandshire, N. division of Northumberland, 5 miles (N.) from Belford; containing, with the townships of Beal with Lowlin, Berrington, Buckton, and Fenwick,[1]

Additional information:

Kyloe St Nicolas was created as a parochial chapelry in 1738 within the ancient parish of Holy Island, Northumberland; An ancient chapel on the site since the 12th century was replaced in 1792. St Nicholas Kelloe includes Beal with Lowlin, Berrington, Buckton, Fenwick and Kyloe.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/162  1762-1836 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The designation "North Durham" appears in the transcript collection for Northumberland parishes prior to 1844.North Durham references in the Durham Bishop’s Transcripts collection 1700-1900

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Kyloe, St Nicholas: Records of baptisms 1682-1982, marriages 1675-1980 and burials 1674-1900 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Baptisms 1682-1745, marriages 1675-1745 and burials 1674-1737 can also be seen at Tyne and Wear Archives Service.  Kyloe is not included in the IGI or in Boyd's Marriage Index. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Kyloe (microfiche TN74) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241358.

Poor Law Unions

Berwick Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 18:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,148 times.