LaSalle Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Louisiana  Gotoarrow.png  LaSalle Parish

Guide to LaSalle Parish Louisiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Louisiana
Online Records


LaSalle Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting LaSalle Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded July 3, 1908
County Seat Jena
Courthouse
LALaSallecourthouse.jpg
Address 1050 Courthouse Street
Jena, LA 71342
(318) 992-2158
Adopt-a-wiki page
LaGenWeb logo.gif This page adopted by:
LAGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Jo Branch,Parish Coordinator
LaSalle Parish LAGenWeb
Adopt a page today
 

Contents

Parish Courthouse

La Salle Parish Courthouse
PO Box 1372
Jena, LA 71342-0057
Phone: 318.992.2101 

Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1910.[1]

History

Parent Parish

  • 1908--LaSalle Parish was created 3 July 1908 from Catahoula Parish.
    Parish seat: Jena [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Louisiana Parishes see: Louisiana Parishes with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Parishes or Counties

Resources

Lalasalle.png

African American


Cemeteries

 





Cemeteries

Census

Census Pop.
19109,402
19209,8564.8%
193011,66818.4%
194010,959−6.1%
195012,71716.0%
196013,0112.3%
197013,2952.2%
198017,00427.9%
199013,662−19.7%
200014,2824.5%
Est. 200614,093[2]−1.3%
La Salle Parish Census Data[3]
















Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for LaSalle Parish, Louisiana. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories. Louisiana Museums

Maps

Military

Louisiana Military History Online

Newspapers

 

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as LaSalle Parish, Louisiana newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Louisiana Probate Records  ~  information on.

Taxation

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Louisiana Records and Statistics Information  ~ where and how to order information.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Louisiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., LaSalle Parish, Louisiana p 291 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. United States Census Bureau. "La Salle Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22059.html. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 
  3. United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 September 2014, at 14:31.
  • This page has been accessed 6,415 times.