La Crosse County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to La Crosse County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png La Crosse County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


La Crosse County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 1, 1851
County Seat La Crosse
Courthouse
Address La Crosse County Courthouse
400 4th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601-3200
Phone. 608.785.9577
WI La Crosse.png

Contents

County Courthouse

La Crosse County Courthouse
400 4th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601-3200
Phone. 608.785.9577

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1851;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records; Registrar in Probate
has probate records from 1851 [1]


Historical Facts

La Crosse County, Wisconsin is on the border with Minnesota, and the larger town of La Crosse is just across from Winona, Minnesota.

The La Crosse Public Library has La Crosse county history and geography resources online at lacrosselibrary.org/genealogy/laxhistory/mainpage.asp.[1]

Parent County

1851--La Crosse County was created 1 March 1851 from Crawford County.  County seat: La Crosse [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

The La Crosse Public Library has a La Crosse county cemetery index online at lacrosselibrary.org/genealogy/

Census

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

1875 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1875 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

1885 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1885 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

1895 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1895 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

1905 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1905 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

Church History and Records

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Holmen, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

The La Crosse Public Library has online versions of several historic La Crosse city directories at lacrosselibrary.org/city%20directories/. Directories available for 1866, 1870, 1876, 1880, 1885, 1890, 1895, 1900, 1905.

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from La Crosse County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of La Crosse County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies B, D, H, and L
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company A.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

The La Crosse Public Library has an obituary index online at lacrosselibrary.org/genealogy/. Requests for photocopies of the obituaries can be ordered by mail from the library for a small fee.

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
*Introduction to LDS Family History Centers 

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 757 Lafayette County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 8,451 times.