La Paz County, ArizonaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arizona Gotoarrow.png La Paz County

Guide to La Paz County, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Arizona
Online Records


La Paz County, Arizona
Map
Map of Arizona highlighting La Paz County
Location in the state of Arizona
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 2, 1982
County Seat Parker
Courthouse
Address 1316 Kofa Ave
Suite 607

Parker, AZ 85344

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: La Paz County, Arizona

Contents

County Courthouse 

La Paz County Courthouse
1108 Joshua Avenue
Parker, AZ 85344-6477

Clerk Superior Court has marriage, divorce, probate and
court records County Recorder has land records  Parent County [1]

Parent County

27 Apr 1983 - Arizona created La Paz County from the northern half of Yuma County.[10] County seat: Parker Arizona.[1] This county named for the town of La Paz, Arizona. Look for records in La Paz and Yuma counties.

Boundary Changes

See Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arizona counties see: Arizona Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Alamo Crossing (hist.) Cienega Springs Love Pioneer Swansea
Bluewater Desert Wells McVay Planet Utting
Bouse Ehrenberg Midway Plomosa Vicksburg
Brenda Harcuvar Olive City (hist.) Poston Vicksburg Junction
Bush Pit Hope Parker Quartzsite Wenden
Cibola La Paz (hist.) Parker Strip Salome









Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing La Paz County, Arizona census records online, see: Arizona Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for La Paz County, Arizona. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

Maps

Azlapaz.png

Military

Newspapers

Finding More Arizona Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as La Paz County, Arizona newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Arizona, La Paz - Probate records.

Taxation

Template:AZ Tax Intro

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

Societies and Libraries

Parker Area Historical Society
1214 California Ave.
Parker, AZ 85344-1500
Telephone 928-669-8077
Hours 10-2 Thurs. & Fri.


Quartzsite Historical Society
161 W. Main St. Quartzsite, AZ 85346
Telephone 928-927-5229
Summer Hours: 9am - 11 am Thursdays
Winter Hours: November - March Wed-Sun 10am to 3pm


Family History Centers

Introduction to Family History Centers

Parker Arizona
1416 Riata Ave
Parker, La Paz, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 520-669-2700

Quartzsite Arizona
455 S Riggles Rd
Quartzsite, La Paz, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 928-927-9636

These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), La Paz County, Arizona p. 56. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Williams 108-110
  3. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
  4. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
  5. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  6. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  7. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
  8. Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
  9. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  10. Ariz. Laws 1983, 36th assy., ch. 291/pp. 1089-1094

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 23:07.
  • This page has been accessed 7,878 times.