La Porte County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png LaPorte County

Guide to LaPorte County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
La Porte County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 9, 1832
County Seat La Porte
Courthouse
Address La Porte County Courthouse
813 Lincoln Way
La Porte, IN 46350
Phone: 219.326.6808
Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1830*
1882*
1831
1832
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed from St. Joseph county, and unorganized territory in 1832[1]
  • County Seat: La Porte [2]


Neighboring Counties

Porter  • Jasper  • Starke  • St. Joseph  • Berrien


Porter CountyKankakee CountyWill CountyJasper CountyLake CountyNewton CountyKosciusko CountyBerrien CountyStarke CountyElkhart CountySt. Joseph CountyCook CountyVan Buren CountyCass CountyPulaski CountyMarshall CountyMiami CountyFulton CountyLa Porte CountyINLa Porte.JPG



Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

  • Greenwood Cemetery, Michigan City
  • Springville Cemetery, Springville
  • Rolling Prarie Cemetery, Rolling Prarie
  • St John Kanty Cemetery, Galena Township
  • Pine Lake Cemetery, Laporte
  • St Stanislaus, Michigan City
  • Swan Lake, Michigan City

Census Records

For tips on accessing La Porte County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

Methodist

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as La Porte County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

LaPorte County is the only county in Indiana that has 2 courthouses. One is located in Michigan City and the other is in the county seat of the City of La Porte.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories
  • History of La Porte County, Indiana: together with sketches of its cities, villages, and townships, educational, religious, civil, military, and political history; portraits of prominent persons and biographies of representative citizens. History of Indiana : embracing accounts of the pre-historic races, aborigines, French, English and American conquests, an a general review of its civil, political and military history. (2004. La Crosse, WI: Brookhaven Press.)  977.291 H2h FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraries Google Books.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as La Porte County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from LaPorte County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in LaPorte County.

Civil War Books

  • "Military Record" Chapter 25 in Packard, Jasper. 1976. History of LaPorte County, Indiana, and its townships, towns and cities. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic.), (page 195-400; Regiment, Companies, Name's)  977.291 H2p FHL US/CAN Book  FHL Collection  other libraries   DDigital version at FamilySearch Books Online
  • "The War For The Union" in History of La Porte County, Indiana: together with sketches of its cities, villages, and townships, educational, religious, civil, military, and political history; portraits of prominent persons and biographies of representative citizens. History of Indiana embracing accounts of the pre-historic races, aborigines, French, English and American conquests, an a general review of its civil, political and military history. (2004. La Crosse, WI: Brookhaven Press.), (page 198-246; history of Regiment),977.291 H2h FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraries   Google books   INTERNET ARCHIVE

Civil War Databases

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

The Herald Argus, City of Laporte and surrounding area

Michigan City News Dispatch, Michigan City and surrounding area

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as La Porte County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

LaPorte County Courthouse
813 Lincoln Way
La Porte, IN 46350
Phone: 219.326.6808

County Clerk has marriage records from 1832,
divorce, probate and court records from 1834.
County Recorder has land records.
County Health Department has birth, death and burial records. [4]

Archives
Libraries
  • LaPorte County Public Library, City of Laporte (Branch locations throughout county)
  • Michigan City Public Library, Michigan City
Museums
Societies

LaPorte County Genealogical Society members have indexed and abstracted a variety of local records:

Marriage Index, LaPorte Co., IN 1921 - 1925
Marriage Index, LaPorte Co., IN 1926 - 1930
Index to 1870 Census, La Porte Co., IN Compiled by Betty Newland Warner
Index to 1880 Census, La Porte Co., IN
Declaration of Intentions & Final Papers 1833 thru July 1854
Declaration of Intentions 22 Aug 1854 – 02 May 1870
Declaration of Intentions 02 May 1870 – April 1894
Declaration of Intentions 27 April 1894 – March 1918
Declaration of Intentions Aug 29 1913 – 29 June 1929
*Superior Ct., Michigan City Declaration of Intentions March 1918 – June 1929
*Superior Ct., Michigan City 12 April 1912 – 23 December 1920
Second Papers Oct 1854 – Apr 1903
State of Indiana vs. (Defendants) 1837-1850 LaPorte County Circuit Court Cases
State of Indiana vs. Defendants 1851-1872
Divorce Book #1 - 1833-1860
Divorce Book #2 - 1861-1875

These are available in select libraries or for purchase on the society's web site.

Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

School Records

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as La Porte County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Death Records
  • Death Notices & Obituaries Contributed for the LaPorte County Indiana - GenWeb


Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as La Porte County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Websites

Places

  • City of Laporte
  • Rolling Prarie
  • Michigan City
  • Otis
  • Westville

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "La Porte County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LaPorte_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igiindianah.pdf.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), La Porte County, Indiana 214 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:01.
  • This page has been accessed 17,241 times.