Labette County, KansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Labette County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Labette County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Labette County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Labette County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 7, 1867
County Seat Oswego
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Labette County Courthouse
501 Merchant Street
Oswego, Kansas 67356
Phone: 316.795.2138


Contents

County Courthouse

Labette County Courthouse
501 Merchant St P O Box 387
Oswego KS 67356
Phone: 316 795-2227

County Clerk has birth records 1885-1896 and death records 1885-1889.
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records from 1870.
Clerk District Court has divorce and court records from 1870.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1875.
A yearly county census was taken 1915-1979.[1]

History

Parent County

1867--Labette County was created 7 February 1867 from Neosho County. County seat: Oswego [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

  • Altamont
  • Angola
  • Bartlett
  • Brownstone
  • Chetopa
  • Dennis
  • Edna
  • Fern
  • Garvin
  • Grove
  • Labette
  • Laneville
  • Montana
  • Morehead
  • Mound Valley
  • Orchard Park
  • Oswego
  • Parsons
  • Penfield
  • Stover
  • Strauss
  • Valeda
  • Winway

Neighboring Counties

Kslabette.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries and Funeral Homes

Several published books as well as archival materials exist for Labette County cemeteries. (See WorldCat for library holdings.)  Compilations include:

  • Funeral Registers, 1900-1926. Wall Funeral Home, Parsons, Kansas. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1987
  • Labette County Funeral Registers, 1889-1926.
  • Murphy, D.D, and Josephine Murphy. Tombstone Inscriptions from Cemeteries on Montana Road, Oswego, Labette County. , 1970.
  • Rice, Tina, and Wanda Houts. Tombstone Inscriptions. Parsons, KS. (P.O. Box 826, Parsons 67357: T. Rice and W. Houts, 1981.

In addition, several national websites include information for Labette County graves:

Resources for specific cemeteries are:

Cemetery Information Records and Publications
Altamont Mount Pleasant

(unknown)
Paine, George. [Inscriptions from Deserted Cemetery Near Bartlett]. , 1971. Archival material.
Cecil Bartlett
County Farm

Edna

Elston

Fairview

Franklin

Galesburg

Griffith

Hackberry

Harmony
Harmony Grove Cemetery [Labette County, KS]. S.l: s.n, 1900.
Hopewell

Labette
McAvoy, Gene P. Cemetery inscriptions from Labette Cemetery, Labette County, Kansas. [S.l. : s.n.], 1977. (Microfilm available at FamilySearch centers.)
Lake Creek

Leib

Mason

Masonic

Memorial Lawn

Mitchell

Mound Valley
The Mound Valley Cemetery, 1885-1976 / produced by members of the Mound Valley Historical Society and the LaBette Genealogical Society of LaBette County, Kansas. Mound Valley, Kan. : M.V.H.S., 1977. (Available at the Kansas Historical Society)
Mount Calvary
Mount Calvary Cemetery [Labette County, KS]. S.l: s.n, 1900.
Oak Hill Chetopa Miller, Retha L. B, and Brenda M. Ross. Oak Hill Cemetery, Labette County, Kansas: 1869-1972 Record of Burials and Their Locations. Chetopa, Kan: R.L.B. Miller, 1972. BillionGraves has photos of some headstones plotted on a Google map and searchable.
Oakwood Parsons Oakwood cemetery, Parsons, Kansas : tribute and a tour. [Iron Horse Historical Society and the Parsons Sun] [Parson, Kan. : Iron horse Historical Society and the Parson Sun], 1987
Oswego
Oswego Cemetery Directory as of Sept 18, 1998. S.l: s.n., 1998.
Penfield

Phillips

Pleasant Hill
Pleasant Hill Cemetery records, Labette County, Kansas. (Microfilm available at FamilySearch centers.)
Pleasant Valley
Pleasant Valley Cemetery Labette County, Kansas. S.l: s.n, 1900.
Richland

Roberts

Saint Rose Chetopa Saint Rose Catholic Cemetery Chetopa, Labette County, Kansas. S.l: s.n., 1993
Spring Hill
Springhill Cemetery [Labette County, KS]. S.l: s.n, 1900.
Tibbets

Vance

Wilsonton

Wooden

Oak Hill Cemetery, Chetopa Google map and searchable database on BillionGraves

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


  • Brown Chapel, African Methodist Episcopal
  • Cecil Church (historical)
  • Center Bethel Church
  • Center Chapel
  • Edna Baptist Church
  • Elm Church
  • Hopewell Church
  • Mount Pleasant Baptist
  • Mount Zion Baptist Church (historical)
  • Pleasant Hill Church
  • St. Paul's Church. [See book: Protestant Episcopal Church, Kansas Parish Registers of Baptisms, Burials, Marriages, Etc: Chetopa, St. Paul's Church, 1889-1960]
  • Salem Church (historical)
  • Spring Valley Church
  • Zion Hill Church

Court

Labette County Court House
501 Merchant St
Oswego KS 67356
(620) 795-2227

The Kansas Historical Sociey has the following on microfilm:

Chetopa City Clerk Ordinance book book, 1879-1881

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


The Labette County Register of Deeds Office  has land records from 1867.

An additional resource is: 'Deed records, Labette County, 1868-1877, Kansas by the Daughters of the American Revolution, Oceanic Hopkins Chapter (Pittsburg, Kansas) and Margaret Grandle. Available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah and FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Labette County, Kansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


See WorldCat to locate the following materials: [Note: some digital versions are available online.]

Brotherton, Mike, and Mattox, David. Labette County. Arcadia Pub. , 2011.

Canfield, Thomas H. Business Directory of the City of Oswego: Labette County, Kansas, Containing a History of the Town from the Beginning, with the Present Business of the Place, Together with an Outline Map of the City and Its Surroundings, Its Population and Its Railroad Facilities, Present and Future. Oswego: Printed by Colver & M'Gill, 1870.

Case, Nelson. History of Labette County, Kansas: And Representative Citizens. Chicago: Biographical Pub. Co, 1901. Digital version at Internet Archive.

Case, Nelson. History of Labette County, Kansas: From the First Settlement to the Close of 1892. Topeka, Kan: Crane & Co, 1893. Digital versions at Internet Archive and Hathi Trust.

Earle, Jonathan, Ted Wilson, Norman Saul, Paul Kelton, Stephen Hasiotis, and John N. Mack. Swords into Ploughshares: the Struggle to Build an Ordered Community of Liberty on the Southeast Kansas Frontier 1867-1876. , 2009. Internet resource at KU Scholar Works.

Graue, Bertha I, and Norman R. Peters. The Bartlett Book: A Collection of Newspaper Articles Containing a History of the Many Families Who Have Lived in the Southern Part of Labette County, Kansas, 1850-1977. Washington, D.C.] (Box 21117, Washington 20009: N.R. Peters, 1982.

James Lincoln Stice Papers: Scrapbooks, Letters, Newspaper Clippings, Photographs. Fayetteville, Ark: Special Collections Division, University Libraries, 1999.

Kinton, Maxine L. Some Ohioans to Labette Co., Kansas. Mansfield, Ohio: M.L. Kinton, 1980.

Labette County, Kansas. S.l.: General Books, 2010.

Lightfoot, W H. Our Heroes in Our Defense: Labette County, Kansas. Parsons, Kan: Printed by Commercial publishing co, 1921. Digital versions at Internet Archive and Hathi Trust.

Nixon, Ruth. History of Big Hill and Old Mt. Zion. Cherryvale? (Kan.: s.n., 1982.

Parsons, Labette County, Kansas Years from 1869 to 1895 : Story of "the Benders". Parsons, Kan. : Bell Bookcraft, 1970. Digital version at Internet Archive.

Maps

The David Rumsey Map Collection website has digitized atlas maps of Labette County, as well as the cities of Altamont, Chetopa, Dennis, Labette City, Mathewson, Montana, Mortimer, Mound Valley, Neosho Falls, Oswego, and Parsons. The maps' source is "The Official State Atlas of Kansas compiled from government surveys, county records and personal investigations" Philadelphia. L.H. Everts & Co. 1887.

Military

The WorldCat website provides holdings details for the following publications and archival materials:

Civil War Veterans to Labette Co., Kansas. Kansas?: s.n, 1900.

Hollingsworth, Patricia Merrill. World War I Draft Registration Cards Labette County Kansas. Mariba, Kentucky : P.M. Hollingsworth, 2003. (Available at FamilySearch centers.)

Kinton, Maxine L. Some Civil War Veterans to Labette Co., Kansas. Mansfield, Ohio: M.L. Kinton, 1980.

Mack, John N. "A Second Revolution: The Struggle to Define the Meaning of the Civil War in Southeast Kansas, 1867-1876." Kansas History. 32.1 (2009)

Memorial ... Parsons, Kansas. Parsons, Kan.?: s.n., 1970.

Nixon, Perry O. C. [Civil War Memoir of Perry O.C. Nixon, Sergeant, Company C, 10th Illinois Volunteer Infantry Regiment, 1861-1865]. , 1907

For information about Civil War records see Neosho County.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Labette County, Kansas newspapers in online catalogs like:


Current newspapers in Labette include the Altamont Journal, Chetopa Advance, Labette Avenue, Oswego Independent-Observer, and Parsons Sun.

Historical newspapers: The Kansas Historical Society holds the following newspapers on microfilm: [for dates and additional information see the Newspaper Index at their website.]

Altamont Gazette , Altamont Journal , Altamont Saturday Item , Altamont Sentinel , American Crank , Anti-Monopolist , Arbitrator , Bartlett News , Blade-Democrat , Breeze , Chetopa Advance , Chetopa Advance Reunion Daily , Chetopa Advance-Clipper , Chetopa Clipper , Chetopa Democrat , Chetopa Herald , Chetopa Statesman , Chetopa Times , Coffins Business Directory, Daily Eclipse, Daily Eli , Daily Evening Star , Daily News , Daily Out-Look , Daily Pilot , Daily Republican , Democrat , Dennis Hustler , Dennis Leader , Edna Enterprise , Edna Independent , Edna News , Edna Star , Edna Sun , Evening Herald , Evening Journal , Eye Opener , Farm Talk , Golden Rod , High School Sentiment , Independent , Infant Wonder [many variant titles] , Kansas Advocate , Kansas Christian Advocate , Kansas Democrat , Kansas Farm and Home , Kansas Messenger , Kansas State Alliance , Kansas Workman , Labette County Democrat , Labette County Statesman , Labette County Times , Labette County Times-Statesman , Labette Record , Labette Sentinel , Labette Star , Mills' Weekly World , Mound Valley Herald , Mound Valley Journal , Mound Valley News , Mound Valley Times , Oswego Bee , Oswego Blade , Oswego Courant , Oswego Daily Bee , Oswego Daily Independent , Oswego Daily Republican , Oswego Democrat , Oswego Independent, Oswego Independent-Observer , Oswego News-Blade , Oswego Register , Oswego Republican , Oswego Weekly Blade , Oswego Weekly Republican , Our Home , Parsons Advertiser , Parsons Broadaxe , Parsons Business College Journal, Parsons Daily Eclipse, Parsons Daily Journal , Parsons Daily News , Parsons Daily Republican , Parsons Daily Sun , Parsons Eclipse , Parsons Evening Globe , Parsons Independent , Parsons News , Parsons Palladium , Parsons School Reporter , Parsons Sun, Parsons Sun and Semi Weekly Herald , Parsons Surprise , Parsons Visitor , Parsons Weekly Blade , Parsons Weekly Eclipse , Parsons Weekly Globe , Parsons Weekly Herald , Parsons Weekly Star , Parsons Weekly Sun, Pilot , Railway Employee , School Reporter , Senior Annual, Sentiment , Settler's Guide , South East Kansas Independent Observer , Southern Kansas Advance , State Alliance-Workman , Sun, Times-Journal , Union Blade , United Labor , Weekly Clarion , Western Enterprise , Western World , White Banner , Wilsonton Journal

Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Labette and click Probate records.


The Kansas Historical Sociey has the following on microfilm:

  • Probate journals, 1868-1919
  • Will records, 1868-1921

Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


The Labette County Clerk's Office  holds the following records:

  • Birth records: 1885 to 1896
  • Marriage records: 1867 to the present
  • Death records: 1885 to 1893

In addition, birth, marriage, divorce and death certificates are held by the State of Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Office of Vital Statistics. Post-1940 records are not public; to obtain copies one must be named on the record, or be an immediate family member, or need the record for legal rights. Pre-1940 records may be requested by an individual related as at least a cousin. Records held by the state are:

  • Birth and death certificates: July 1, 1911 to the present
  • Marriage licenses: May 1, 1913 to the present
  • Divorce certificates: July 1, 1951 to the present

The Kansas Historical Sociey has the following on microfilm:

  • Marriage records: 1867 to 1920
  • Marriage register: 1885 to 1896

The WorldCat website has information on holdings of these published and archival materials:

Early Marriage Records, Labette County, Kansas: 30 October 1867-13 April 1878, 15 May 1880-27 March 1881. Topeka, Kan: Topeka Genealogical Society, 1978.

Grandle, Margaret, and Susan G. Tillman. Birth Records Labette County, [Kansas], 1885-1892. Pittsburg, Kan: s.n, 1992.

Labette County Early Births Early Deaths. S.l: s.n, 1900.

Protestant Episcopal Church, Kansas Parish Registers of Baptisms, Burials, Marriages, Etc: Chetopa, St. Paul's Church, 1889-1960. , 1889.

Societies, Libraries, and Museums

Altamont Public Library
407 Huston Ave
Altamont, KS 67330
(620) 784-5530
Website

Chetopa City Library
312 Maple
Chetopa, KS 67336
(620) 236-7194
Website

Chetopa Historical Museum
419 Maple
Chetopa, KS
(620) 236-7121
Website

Edna Historical Museum
101 S. Delaware
Edna, KS
(620) 922-3333
Website

Edna Public Library
105 N Delaware
Edna, KS 67342
(620) 922-3470
Website

Labette County Genealogical Society
1205 So. 32nd St
Parsons, KS 67357
Website

Mound Valley Library
411 Hickory
Mound Valley, KS 67354
(620) 328-3411
Website

Mound Valley Historical Museum
Mound Valley, KS
(620) 328-2811
Website

Mound Valley Historical Society
588 12000 Road
Mound Valley, KS
Website

Oswego Historical Museum
410 Commercial Street
Oswego, KS
(620) 795-4500
Website

Oswego Public Library
704 Fourth Street
Oswego, KS 67356
(620) 795-4921
Website

Parsons Historical Society Museum
401 South 18th
Parsons, KS 67357
(620) 421-2109
Website

Parsons Iron Horse Museum
18th and Corning
Parsons, KS 67357
(620) 421-1959
Website

Parsons Public Library
311 S 17th Street
Parsons, KS 67357
(620) 421-5920
Website

Southeast Kansas Education Museum
402 Ohio St Oswego, KS 67356
(620) 795-2003
Website

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Labette County, Kansas page 252, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 14:16.
  • This page has been accessed 16,336 times.