Lac qui Parle County, MinnesotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Minnesota
Lac qui Parle County
Guide to Lac qui Parle County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Lac qui Parle County, Minnesota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Minnesota | |
![]() Location of Minnesota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | November 7, 1871 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Madison |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Lac qui Parle County Courthouse 600 6th Street Madison, Mn 56256 Phone: 320-598-3724 Lac qui Parle County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County recorder has birth, marriage, death and military records
Court Administrator has divorce, probate and court records
County Assessor has land records. [1]
History
Parent County
- 1871--Lac Qui Parle County was created 7 November 1871 from Redwood County. County seat: Madison [2]
- For a brief history of how Lac Qui Parle County was named, click here. Then select Lac Qui Parle County.
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Cities
Bellingham | Boyd | Dawson | Louisburg | Madison | Marietta | Nassau | Ortonville
Townships
Agassiz Township | Arena Township | Augusta Township | Baxter Township | Camp Release Township | Cerro Gordo Township | Freeland Township | Garfield Township | Hamlin Township | Hantho Township | Lac qui Parle Township | Lake Shore Township | Madison Township | Manfred Township | Maxwell Township | Mehurin Township | Perry Township | Providence Township | Riverside Township | Ten Mile Lake Township | Walter Township | Yellow Bank Township
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.
Lutheran
Garfield Lutheran Church, Madison
- Records of Garfield Lutheran Church, Madison, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]
Madison Lutheran Church
- Records of Madison Lutheran Church in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]
Riverside Lutheran Church, Dawson
- Records of Riverside Lutheran Church, Dawson, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]
St. Pauli Lutheran Church, Bellingham
- Records of St. Pauli Lutheran Church, Bellingham, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]
Court
Land
The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the Family History Library Catalog under:
MINNESOTA, Lac qui Parle – LAND AND PROPERTY
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Lac qui Parle County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.
Maps
- Family Maps of Lac qui Parle County, Minnesota (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lac qui Parle County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:
- qui Parle+county+Minnesota+Newspapers&qt=results_page WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Lac qui Parle County, Minnesota Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.
Taxation
Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Lac qui Parle County, MN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Family History Library Catalog
- Lac qui Parle, MNGenWeb
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lac qui Parle County, Minnesota page 365, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 June 2013, at 18:43.
- This page has been accessed 1,085 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

