Lafayette County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png ArkansasGotoarrow.png Lafayette County
Red River meanders in Lafayette and Miller Counties, Arkansas
Guide to Lafayette County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.









Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Lafayette County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Lafayette County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 15, 1827
County Seat Lewisville
Courthouse
Address Lafayette County Courthouse
2 Courthouse Square
Lewisville, AR 71845
Phone: 870.921.4633

Contents

County Courthouse

Lafayette County Courthouse
2 Courthouse Square
Lewisville, AR 71845
Phone: 870.921.4633

County Clerk has marriage records from 1848 and probate records; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and land records.[1]

Beginning years for Lafayette County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1828 1914* 1828 1828 1828
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

  • 1827--Lafayette County was created 15 October 1827 from Hempstead County.   County seat: Lewisville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bossier Parish, Louisiana  • Caddo Parish, Louisiana  • Columbia  • Hempstead • Miller • Nevada  • Webster Parish, Louisiana

Lafayette CountyMiller CountyColumbia CountyNevada CountyHempstead CountyLittle River CountySevier CountyHoward CountyClark CountyOauchita CountyCaddo ParishBossier ParishWebster ParishClaiborne ParishBowie CountyCass CountyMarion CountyHarrison CountyMcCurtain CountyARLafayette.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Lafayette County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lafayette County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • Before the arrival of Europeans, the area’s inhabitants were mostly of the Caddo tribe. The last Caddo village on the Great Bend of the Red River was abandoned around 1778.
  • 1800s (early) - Identification of specific European explorers and settlers in the future Lafayette County area of the Louisiana Purchase is difficult.
  • 1815 - The New Madrid Earthquakes and the War of 1812 prompted President James Monroe to survey and offer lands from the Louisiana Purchase to veterans and displaced farmers.
  • 1826 - The first years for the settlers on Long Prairie were especially difficult with uncomfortable wilderness conditions afflicting the community. Many pulled up stakes and move 100 miles to the east.
  • 1827 October 15 - Lafayette County was organized.
  • 1861-1865 - Like most areas in the South, Lafayette County was devastated by the Civil War.
  • 1865-1877 - The most significant change during this period may have been the proliferation of family farms.
  • 1880s - Another dramatic change of the era was the arrival of the railroad.
  • 1900-1940s - The first four decades of the twentieth century saw both prosperity and depression. Banks failed, mortgagers foreclosed, properties were lost, and crop values plummeted.
  • 1930-2010 - The population of Lafayettte County hit its high mark in 1930 at 16,900 and is now (2010) at less than half that number at 7,600

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Lafayette County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lafayette County, Arkansas:

- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 19th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Dockery's) (Confederate)
- 20th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 26th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- Abraham's Company, Arkansas Mounted Volunteers (State Troops) (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[4], Company I

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lafayette County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.


  • Probate Records 1828-1925 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds 1859-1905; Letters of administration and guardianship 1859-1906; Miscellaneous probate records 1844-1858; Probate records 1828-1897; Wills 1846-1925.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.


See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Lafayette County, Arkansas
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Lafayette County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Lafayette County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Lafayette County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Lafayette County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 68.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 July 2014, at 15:38.
  • This page has been accessed 6,263 times.