Lafayette County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Lafayette County

Guide to Lafayette County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Lafayette County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 16, 1820
County Seat Lexington
Courthouse
Address Lafayette County Courthouse

1001 Main Street
PO Box 357
Lexington, MO 64067
Phone: 660.259.4315
Lafayette County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

 

County Recorder has marriage, divorce, probate,
court and land records from 1821[1]

History

Parent County

1820--Lafayette County was created 16 November 1820 from Cooper County. County seat: Lexington. [2] The county was originally named Lillard County. Its name was changed in 1825 to Lafayette County.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Carroll  • Jackson  • Johnson  • Pettis  • Ray  • Saline

Lafayette CountyHoward CountySaline CountyPettis CountyJohnson CountyCass CountyJackson CountyClay CountyRay CountyClinton CountyCarroll CountyChariton CountyHenry CountyCooper CountyMorgan CountyMOLafayette.JPG
About this image


Resources

Archives and Libraries

Biographies

Cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Immaculate Conception, Lexington

  • 1853-1876 - Immaculate Conception, Lexington, Baptism Index 1853-1876. Batch C511831 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1853-1885 - Immaculate Conception, Lexington, Marriage Index 1853-1885. Batch M511831 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lafayette County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

A Portrait and biographical record of Lafayette and Saline counties, Missouri ... (1893) is available online free from Google Books. The first part of the book contains biographies of the U.S. presidents. The second part, starting on p.111, contains biographies Lafayette and Saline county residents.

Maps

Molafayette.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
:- 5th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company C
:- 2nd Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company F
:- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company I
:- 5th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
:- 69th Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
:- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company K
:- 71st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company A
:- 71st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company C
:- 71st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company D
:- 71st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company I
:- 71st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company B
:- 71st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company E

Civil War Battles

The following Civil War Battles was fought in Lafayette County

  • September 13-20, 1861 = Lexington I[4] also known as Battle of the Hemp Bales

Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lafayette County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


  • Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Sedalia newspapers from the late 1800's and early 1900's that sometimes included Lafayette County residents.

Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1865-1869 - Lafayette County Birth Index 1865-1869. Batch C515311 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1868 - Lafayette County Birth Index, Volume F, 1868. Batch C515312 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1821-1873 - Lafayette County Marriage Books A thru E Index 1821-1873. Batch M515311 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1868-1885 - Lafayette County Marriage Books F thru H Index 1868-1885. Batch M515312 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1881-1885 - Lafayette County Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1881-1885. Batch M515313 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Lafayette County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Lafayette County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Lafayette County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries


Social networking sites pertaining to Lafayette County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Lafayette County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Lafayette County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lafayette County, Missouri. Page 402 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012)
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 June 2014, at 21:15.
  • This page has been accessed 9,134 times.