Lafayette County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Lafayette County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Lafayette County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Lafayette County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 31, 1846
County Seat Darlington
Courthouse
Address Lafayette County Courthouse
626 Main Street
Darlington, WI 53530;
Phone. 608.776.4850
WI Lafayette.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Lafayette County Courthouse
626 Main Street
Darlington, WI 53530;
Phone. 608.776.4850

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1860,
marriage records from 1847, death records from
1877 and land records from 1840; Clerk Court has
divorce and court records; Registrar  in Probate has 
probate records [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1846--Lafayette County was created 31 January 1846 fromIowa County.  County seat: Darlington [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

Church History and Records

Court Records

Lafayette County Wisconsin Courthouse.jpg

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Lafayette County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Lafayette County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company I
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company I
- 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company A

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Freeport, Illinois newspapers from the late 1800's and early 1900's that covered local news on residents from Lafayette County. The Rock Island Public Library in Rock Island, Illinois provides free access to this database at its library.

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 757 Lafayette County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 21:34.
  • This page has been accessed 5,612 times.