Lafayette Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Louisiana
Lafayette Parish
Guide to Lafayette Parish Louisiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Lafayette Parish, Louisiana | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Louisiana | |||||||||
![]() Location of Louisiana in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | January 17, 1852 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Lafayette | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| Website: www.lafayetteparishclerk.com | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
Parish Courthouse
Lafayette Parish Courthouse
PO Box 4508
Lafayette, LA 70502-4508
Phone: 337.291.6400
Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1823.[1]
History
Parent Parish
- 1823--Lafayette Parish was created 17 January 1823 from St. Martin and Attakapas, Discontinued 17 Apr 1811, Parishes.
Parish seat: Lafayette [1]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Lafayette Parish boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Parishes or Counties
Resources
African American
- Louisiana African American Griots Project ~ USGenWeb Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
Cemeteries
- LA Tombstone Transcription Project ~ partial records and photos ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Interment.net ~ LA cemetery records by county
- African American Cemeteries ~ listing by county
- FindaGrave.com ~ cemetery records with search by cemetery, by surname
Individual cemeteries:
- St. John's Cemetery, Lafayette BillionGraves
Census
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1900 | 22,825 | ||
| 1910 | 28,733 | 25.9% | |
| 1920 | 30,841 | 7.3% | |
| 1930 | 38,827 | 25.9% | |
| 1940 | 43,941 | 13.2% | |
| 1950 | 57,743 | 31.4% | |
| 1960 | 84,656 | 46.6% | |
| 1970 | 109,716 | 29.6% | |
| 1980 | 150,017 | 36.7% | |
| 1990 | 164,762 | 9.8% | |
| 2000 | 190,503 | 15.6% | |
| Est. 2008 | 211,000 | [2] | 10.8% |
| Lafayette Parish Census Data[3] | |||
- Louisiana Census Images ~ USGenWeb Census Images Project
Church
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana ~ by city ~ Church Angel
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- USGW Digital Map Collection ~ USGenWeb Project
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Lafayette Parish.
- April 17, 1863 = Vermillion Bayou[4]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Louisiana.
Louisiana Military History Online
Newspapers
- Louisiana Newspaper List ~ listing by name/parish ~ USNPL
- Louisiana Newspaper ~ listing ~ Newslink
Probate
Louisiana Probate Records ~ information on.
Taxation
Vital Records
Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- LAGenWeb - Louisiana State Records
- USGenWeb ~ Records, Maps, Archives and Other Projects
- Louisiana Archives ~ USGenWeb Archives Project *Family History Library Catalog
- Lafayette Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., LaFayette Parish, Louisiana p 291 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ United States Census Bureau. "Lafayette Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22055.html. Retrieved 2008-02-02.
- ↑ United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State (accessed 8 August, 2012)
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 13 March 2013, at 17:27.
- This page has been accessed 2,487 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



