Lafourche Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Louisiana
Lafourche Parish
Guide to Lafourche Parish Louisiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Lafourche Parish, Louisiana | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Louisiana | |||||||||
![]() Location of Louisiana in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | April 10, 1805 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Thibodaux | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| Address | 200 Green St Thibodaux | ||||||||
| Website: lafourcheclerk.com | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
Parish Courthouse
Lafourche Parish Courthouse
309 W 3rd Street
Thibodaux, LA 70301-3021
Phone: 985.447.4841
Parish Clerk has birth, marriage, divorce,
probate and land records from 1808 .[1]
History
Parent Parish
1805--Lafourche Parish was created 10 April 1805 as an original parish.
Parish seat: Thibodaux [1]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Lafourche Parish boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Parishes or Counties
Resources
African American
- Louisiana African American Griots Project ~ USGenWeb Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
Cemeteries
- LA Tombstone Transcription Project ~ partial records and photos ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Interment.net ~ LA cemetery records by county
- African American Cemeteries ~ listing by county
- FindaGrave.com ~ cemetery records with search by cemetery, by surname
Cemeteries
Census
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1900 | 28,882 | ||
| 1910 | 33,111 | 14.6% | |
| 1920 | 30,344 | −8.4% | |
| 1930 | 32,419 | 6.8% | |
| 1940 | 38,615 | 19.1% | |
| 1950 | 42,209 | 9.3% | |
| 1960 | 55,381 | 31.2% | |
| 1970 | 68,941 | 24.5% | |
| 1980 | 82,483 | 19.6% | |
| 1990 | 85,860 | 4.1% | |
| 2000 | 89,974 | 4.8% | |
| Est. 2006 | 93,554 | [2] | 4.0% |
| Lafourche Parish Census Data[3] | |||
- Louisiana Census Images ~ USGenWeb Census Images Project
Church
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana ~ by city ~ Church Angel
Catholic
St. Joseph Catholic Church, Thibodaux
Baptism
- 1803-1846 - St. Joseph Catholic Church, Thibodaux, Baptism Index 1803-1846. Batch C541081 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1865-1885 - St. Joseph Catholic Church, Thibodaux, Baptism Index 1865-1885. Batch C541083 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1885-1895 - St. Joseph Catholic Church, Thibodaux, Baptism Index 1885-1895. Batch C541084 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
- 1820-1862 - St. Joseph Catholic Church, Thibodaux, Marriage Index 1820-1862. Batch M541081 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- USGW Digital Map Collection ~ USGenWeb Project
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Lafourche Parish.
- October 27, 1862 = Georgia Landing, also known as Labadieville or Texana[5]
- June 20-21, 1863 = LaFourche Crossing[6]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Louisiana.
Louisiana Military History Online
Newspapers
- Louisiana Newspaper List ~ listing by name/parish ~ USNPL
- Louisiana Newspaper ~ listing ~ Newslink
Probate
Louisiana Probate Records ~ information on.
Taxation
Vital Records
Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- LAGenWeb - Louisiana State Records
- USGenWeb ~ Records, Maps, Archives and Other Projects
- Louisiana Archives ~ USGenWeb Archives Project *Family History Library Catalog
- Lafourche Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Lafourche Parish, Louisiana p 291 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ United States Census Bureau. "Lafourche Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22057.html. Retrieved 2008-02-02.
- ↑ United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/c2/Igilouisiana.pdf.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 30 March 2013, at 19:15.
- This page has been accessed 2,018 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



