Lake County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Lake County

Guide to Lake County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Lake County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 28, 1836
County Seat Crown Point
Courthouse
Address Adams County Courthouse
602 Adams Avenue
Hettinger, ND 58739
Phone: 701.567.2460
Adams County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1837*
1882*
--
--
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed from Porter and Elkhart counties in 1836 (1837).[1]
  • County Seat: Crown Point[2]

Neighboring Counties

Porter  • Jasper  • Newton  • Kankakee  • Will  • Cook


Jasper CountyPulaski CountyIroquois CountyStark CountyFord CountyDuPage CountyCook CountyKankakee CountyWill CountyPorter CountyLa Porte CountyWhite CountyNewton CountyLake CountyINLake.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Lake County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Gary
  • South Shore

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lake County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories
  • Howat, William Frederick, and A. G. Lundquist. A Standard History of Lake County, Indiana, and the Calumet Region. Agawan, (MA: Bridgeport National Bindery, 2008.)  Vol. 1 FHL US/CAN Film 982474 Item 2  Vol. 2 FHL US/CAN Film 1597811 Item 7 FHL Collection   other libraries  INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Goodspeed, Weston Arthur, and Charles Blanchard. Counties of Porter and Lake, Indiana: Historical and Biographical.  (Chicago: F.A. Battey, 1882.) FHL US/CAN Film 934917 Item 1  FHL Collection     other libraries     INTERNET ARCHIVE

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lake County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Lake County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lake County.

Civil War Books

  • "Our War Record and Progress  1860-1869" Chapter 6 in Ball, T. H. (Timothy Horton), 1826-1913. Lake County, Indiana, from 1834 to 1872. 2007., (page 110-136; Regiment, Companies; Roll of Honor, page 123 - 125) FHL US/CAN Film 934910 Item 3 FHL Collection  other libraries  INTERNET ARCHIVE

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lake County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse
Lake County Indiana Courthouse.jpg
Lake County Courthouse
2293 N Main Street
Crown Point, IN 46307
Phone: 219.755.3440

County Health Department has birth and death records.
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate
and court records from 1837.
County Recorder has land Records. [3]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lake County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lake County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Websites

Places

Hammond, Whiting, East Chicago, Munster, Indiana Harbor, Griffith, Highland, Gary, Crown Point, Lake Station, Dyer, Cedar Lake, Lowell, Merrillville, Schererville, New Chicago, Schneider, St. John, Winfield

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Lake County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lake_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lake County, Indiana 214 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 October 2014, at 16:16.
  • This page has been accessed 12,812 times.