Lake County, Minnesota GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lake County, Minnesota)

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Lake County

Guide to Lake County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records



Lake County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Lake County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1855
County Seat Two Harbors
Courthouse
Address Lake County Courthouse
601 3rd Ave
Two Harbors, MN 55616
Phone: 218.834.8347
Lake County Website

Contents

County Information

Lake County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1891 1888 1891 1850

County Courthouse

County Register has birth records from 1898, marriage and death from 1891, divorce and court records from 1892. Probate Judge has probate records. City Clerk has burial records. [2]

History

Parent County

  • 1855--Lake County was created 20 February 1855 from Itasca County. The names were changed in 1855 to Newton and St. Louis. Names were changed again in 1856 with St. Louis becoming Lake and Newton becoming St. Louis.

County seat: Two Harbors [3]

  • For a brief history of how Lake County was named, clickhere, then select Lake County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Beaver Bay | Silver Bay | Two Harbors

Townships

Beaver Bay Township | Crystal Bay Township | Fall Lake Township | Silver Creek Township | Stony River Township

Unincorporated Communities

Castle Danger | East Beaver Bay | Finland | Illgen City | Isabella | Knife River | Larsmont | Lax Lake | Little Marais | Murphy City

Unorganized

Lake No. 1 |  Lake No. 2


Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Lake – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lake County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnlake.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lake County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Societies and Libraries

Lake County Historical Society
P.O. Box 313
Two Harbors 55616

Lake County Historical Society
PO Box 128
520 South Ave
Two Harbors MN,
Phone: 218 834-4898
Lake COunty Historical Society

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lake County, Minnesota page 365, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 August 2015, at 20:42.
  • This page has been accessed 5,314 times.