Laleham, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex ParishesLaleham,_Middlesex

Guide to Laleham, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Laleham, Middlesex
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Spelthorne
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Staines PLU
Registration District Staines
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; For more records see Staines
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630; 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

'Laleham All Saints, a parish, [1538] in the union of Staines, hundred of Spelthorne, county of Middlesex, 2 miles south by southeast of Staines Parish.'[1]

The Victoria County History of Laleham (1911) is available online. It includes a history of land ownership, manors, church, advowson, and charities.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Laleham Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1538
1538
Images
1538-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1963 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1538-1876 BritishOrigins[7] 1539-1837 findmypast[8] 1538-1889 BritishOrigins[9]
1539-1837 BritishOrigins[10]
1813-1837 BritishOrigins[11]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438825.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Laleham on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel Lewis, ed. "Laceby - Lambeth," In A Topographical Dictionary of England 1-6. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here, (accessed: 28 April 2010).
  2. 'Spelthorne Hundred: Laleham', A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 2: General; Ashford, East Bedfont with Hatton, Feltham, Hampton with Hampton Wick, Hanworth, Laleham, Littleton (1911), pp. 319-324. URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=22215 Date accessed: 25 March 2012.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as All Saints, Laleham in Parishes Not In A Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Laleham in Parishes Not In A Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Laleham in Parishes Not In A Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Laleham in Parishes Not In A Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  8. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  9. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  10. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  11. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Middlesex parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 17 September 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:56.
  • This page has been accessed 2,080 times.