Lamar County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Lamar County

Guide to Lamar County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Lamar County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 4, 1867
County Seat Vernon
Courthouse
Lamar County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Lamar County Courthouse
330 First St. NE.
Vernon, AL 35592
Phone: (205) 695-7193 County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Probate Office has marriage records 1867-1997,
probate and land records;
Circuit Clerk Office has divorce and Court Records [1]

History

Parent County

1867--Lamar County was created 4 February 1867 from Marion and Fayette Counties.
County seat: Vernon [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1866 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.

For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places/Localities

Allamar.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

Lamar County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1870 8,893
1880 12,142 36.5%
1890 14,187 16.8%
1900 16,084 13.4%
1910 17,487 8.7%
1920 18,149 3.8%
1930 18,001 −0.8%
1940 19,708 9.5%
1950 16,441 −16.6%
1960 14,271 −13.2%
1970 14,335 0.4%
1980 16,453 14.8%
1990 15,715 −4.5%
2000 15,904 1.2%
2010 14,564 −8.4%
  named Sanford County, 1868-1877
For tips on accessing Lamar County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lamar County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

Military


Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lamar County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Transcribed newspapers:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Lamar County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Lamar County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1870–1892, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1870–1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
  • 1937 - Lamar County Death Index 1937. Batch B547381 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Vital Record Substitutes

A free collection of obituaries and death notices from various funeral homes in the Lamar County area has been put together by GenealogyBuffs.com:

  • Marriage notices found in the transcribed newspapers at The USGenWeb Archives - free.

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Lamar County has one book.

Societies and Libraries

Libraries

Mary Wallace Cobb Memorial Library
110 1st Ave. NW
Vernon, AL 35592
Telephone: 205-695-6123

Houses the collection of the Lamar County Genealogical and Historical Society

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lamar County p. 38. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 16:30.
  • This page has been accessed 13,475 times.