Lambe's ChapelEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Giles without Cripplegate Gotoarrow.png Lambe's Chapel

London Lambe's Chapel family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Church records

Lambe's Chapel registers from 1618-1698 and 1709-1753 have been digitized by Ancestry.com (£).

Lambe's Chapel marriages 1619-1626, 1640, 1688, 1696-1698, and 1709-1753 are included in Webb's London Marriages (£).

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Parish History

"Lamb's Chapel is situated in a court at the northwest corner of Monkwell Street, and was found in the reign of Edward I. At the dissolution of religious houses, Henry VIII granted it to William Lambe, a rich citizen and clothworker, who bequeathed it in 1568, with other property, to the Clothworkers Company, of which he was a member.  It has been recently rebuilt with a row of alms houses by the company."[1]


Lamb's Chapel, is at the north-west corner of Monkwell Street, Cripplegate Ward and Farmingdon within. It was founded by William Lamb, a cloth worker, to whom Henry VIII granted the site of St James' Chapel in the Wall.[2]


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

St Giles without Cripplegate.png

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

References

  1. James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digital version: Google Books.
  2. Harben, Henry A A Dictionary of London 1918 Adapted. Date accessed: 26 November 20013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:36.
  • This page has been accessed 2,290 times.