Lamberhurst, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Kent go to Sussex Parishes

Guide to Lamberhurst, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lamberhurst, Kent
Lamberhurst St Mary the Virgin Kent.jpg
Lamberhurst St Mary the Virgin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brenchley and Horsemonden; Loxfield-Pelham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Ticehurst PLU
Registration District Ticehurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1716
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Rochester; Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Court of the Bishop of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LAMBERHURST (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Ticehurst, partly in the hundred of Brenchley and Horsemonden, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, but chiefly in the hundred of Loxfield-Camden, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 15 miles (S. W. by S.) from Maidstone.[1]



Lamberhurst is a village and civil parish in the Tunbridge Wells district of Kent Lamberhurst Wikipedia

Lamberhurst St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish which included Scotney Manor in the parish boundary. See Scotney Castle Wikipedia

The village and civil parish of Lamberhurst was in both counties of Kent and Sussex until the line of the county boundary was adjusted in the Local Government Act 1894 which required that parish boundaries be aligned with county boundaries and thus Lamberhurst became wholly in Kent.A map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

The church is mediaeval and date sfrom the 14th/15th century and has been restored in subsequent centuries notably in 1870 by Ewan Christian who rebuilt the chancel and chapel and interior furnishing.

The church of St Mary Church Road Lamberhurst has been designated as a grade I listed building and includes several listed monuments in the graveyard British listed building

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 294-310 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

The parish neighbours Frant, Kent Wadhurst, Sussex and Ticehurst, Sussex

See Lamberhurst North West Kent Family History Society which includes information about other places of worship and Lamberhurst St Mary

The Strict Baptist chapel which dates from 1816 has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Resources

Civil Registration

See Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see Ticehurst registration district

Church records

Lamberhurst, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FAMR = FamilyRelatives - (£)[4]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
Lamberhurst, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1842
1813-1837

BOYD
1651-1725

FAMR
1564-1837

FS BTs 1716-1910 1716-1910 1716-1910
FS PRs 1563-1844 1563-1717, 1813-1837; 1755-1885 (banns) 1563-1868
IGI 1563-1844 1564-1842
PALL
1790-1837

Land Tax

Images for Lamberhurst available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census returns for Lamberhurst 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK

[2] to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Ticehurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent Hastings Family History Centre, Sussex

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 1-6. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Kent Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  5. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 July 2014, at 18:18.
  • This page has been accessed 2,180 times.