Lambeth Holy Trinity, Surrey GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Free guide to Lambeth Holy Trinity, Surrey genealogy and family history: parish register transcripts, census records, wills, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Lambeth Holy Trinity, Surrey|
|Poor Law Union||Lambeth|
|Parish registers: 1846|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London|
|Probate Court||Pre-1837 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; 1837-1845 - Court of the Bishop of Canterbury; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Surrey Record Office|
Lambeth Holy Trinity Carlisle Street was created as a district church in the year 1839 and lay within the civil parish boundaries of St Mary Lambeth. Lambeth St Mary, a parish, and newly-enfranchised borough, in the E. division of the hundred of Brixton and of the county of Surrey and annexed to Lambeth Palace. There are places of worship for Roman Catholics, Baptists, Wesleyans, Methodists, Welsh Methodists, Independents and Unitarians.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474653.
Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.
The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organization of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 14:11.
- This page has been accessed 2,562 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News