Lambeth St John the Evangelist, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngSurrey Gotoarrow.png Surrey Parishes

Free guide to Lambeth St John the Evangelist, Surrey genealogy and family history: parish register transcripts, census records, wills, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lambeth St John the Evangelist, Surrey
Lambeth St John the Evangelist, Waterloo Road, Surrey.jpg
Lambeth St John the Evangelist, Waterloo Road, Surrey
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brixton
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Lambeth PLU
Registration District Lambeth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1824; Separate registers exist for Waterloo St Thomas beginning 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: 1825
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1837 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; 1837-1845 - Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory); Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St John the Evangelist, Waterloo Street was created as a chapel of ease in the year 1824 and stood within the ancient parish of Lambeth St Mary, a parish, and newly-enfranchised borough, in the E. division of the hundred of Brixton and of the county of Surrey and annexed to Lambeth Palace. There are places of worship for Roman Catholics, Baptists, Wesleyans, Methodists, Welsh Methodists, Independents and Unitarians.[1]

Church records

Online Lambeth St John the Evangelist, Surrey Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1825
1825
1825
Indexes 1825-1875
(gaps)
FamilySearch[2] 1825-1875
(gaps)
FamilySearch[3] 1825-1894 BritishOrigins[4]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474655.


Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organization of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.

Occupation

Poor Law Unions

Lambeth Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 25 February 2014.
  2. Batches C042321, C042322, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  3. Batch M042321, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  4. 'Greater London Burials: South London Burials: Parishes, Period and Counts,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2014, at 19:22.
  • This page has been accessed 4,815 times.