Lambeth St Mary the Less,Norwood, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Parishes Gotoarrow.png 

Free guide to Lambeth St Mary the Less, Norwood, Surrey genealogy and family history: parish register transcripts, census records, wills, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Lambeth St Mary the Less, Norwood was created a district church in the year 1842 and stood within the civil parish of Lambeth St Mary, Lambeth St Mary, a parish, and newly-enfranchised borough, in the E. division of the hundred of Brixton and of the county of Surrey and annexed to Lambeth Palace. There are places of worship for Roman Catholics, Baptists, Wesleyans, Methodists, Welsh Methodists, Independents and Unitarians.[1]

Resources

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted: 3 October 2013.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is {{{1}}}.



Occupations

Poor Law Unions

Lambeth Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,752 times.