Lambley, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Lambley, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lambley, Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Haltwhistle PLU
Registration District Haltwhistle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1742
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hexham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LAMBLEY, aparish, in the union of Haltwhistle, W. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 4½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Haltwhistle.[1]

Additional information:

Lambley is an Ancient Parish and includes Asholme.

It was rebuilt in 1885 to the designs of W. S. Hicks, and dedicated to St. Mary and St. Patrick. The bell in the bell cote came from the ruined nunnery. The church bell, cast in America, is one of the only two foreign bells in the diocese of Newcastle: the other is at Eglingham.

The Lambley and Hartleyburn War Memorial is located in the churchyard.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Lambley, St Mary and St Patrick: Records of baptisms 1742-1913, marriages 1742-1951 and burials 1742-1904 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1742-1812 and marriages 1754-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1743-1812. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages for the period 1742-1851 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. and for 1742-1812 at Gateshead Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Lambley and Coanwood (microfiche TN73) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.

Poor Law Unions

Haltwhistle Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:16.
  • This page has been accessed 980 times.