Lamoille County, VermontEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Lamoille County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Lamoille County


Hand and keyboard.jpg Vermont
Online Records
Lamoille County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Lamoille County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded October 26, 1835
County Seat Hyde Park
Courthouse
Address Lamoille County Courthouse
P.O. Box 303
Hyde Park , VT 05655-0303
802-888-2207
Lamoille County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County clerk  has divorce and court records from 1837; town clerks  have birth, marriage, death, burial and land records; probate judge  has probate records.

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Cambridge 1781,
Elmore 1781,
Hyde Park 1781,
Johnson 1792,
Morristown 1763,
Stowe 1763,
Wolcott 1781[1]

History

Parent County

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

VermontLamoille CountyWashington CountyChittenden CountyFranklin CountyOrleans CountyCaledonia CountyStoweCambridgeWatervilleBelvidereJohnsonMorristownElmoreWolcottHyde parkEdenLowellWestfieldTroyNewportIrasburgAlbanyCraftsburyGloverGreensboroHardwickWaldenWoodburyCabotCalaisWorcesterMIddlesexWaterburyDuxburyHuntingtonRichmondBoltonJerichoEssexWestfordUnderhillFairfaxFletcherFairfieldSaint AlbansSwantonSheldonEnosburgBakersfieldMontgomery
Modern town borders in Lamoille County, Vermont.


Places / Localities

Towns

Extinct Towns:   • Mansfield   • Sterling[3]

Villages:   • Cambridge   • Hyde Park   • Jeffersonville   • Johnson   • Morrisville

Neighboring Counties

Caledonia | Chittenden | Franklin | Orleans | Washington

Resources

Cemeteries

Church Records

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Morrisville

Court Records

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Local Histories

Maps

Vtlamoile.jpg

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments and Companies:

- 5th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Company D
- 13th Regiment, Vermont Infantry

Newspapers

Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Vermont <a title="Vermont Birth Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/birth_form.aspx" target="_blank">Birth Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Marriage Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/marriage_form.aspx" target="_blank">Marriage Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Divorce Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/divorce_form.aspx" target="_blank">Divorce Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Death Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/deathcert_form.aspx" target="_blank">Death Certificate</a> Applications to mail.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists, 181.
  3. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 18:00.
  • This page has been accessed 4,391 times.