Lamyat, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngSomersetGotoarrow.png Somerset ParishesGotoarrow.png

Guide to Lamyat, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lamyat, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Petherton
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Chard PLU
Registration District Chard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Crewkerne
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Cudworth and Knowle
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LAMYATT, a parish, with a village, in Shepton-Mallet district, Somerset; 2 miles N of Bruton railway station, and 1 SE of Evercreech station. A Wesleyan chapel was built in 1865-6.[1]

Refer to the works listed in England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Lamyat, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
LAMYAT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1607-1910
1608-1910
1608-1910
MARR
1607-1753

NBI

1813-1840
SOPC 1607-1921
1703-1901
1608-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474606.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Lamyat/index.html

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 22 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  5. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,291 times.