Lancashire CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Census Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1801 673,486
1811 828,499 23.0%
1821 1,052,948 27.1%
1831 1,336,854 27.0%
1841 1,667,054 24.7%
1851 2,031,236 21.8%
1861 2,429,440 19.6%
1871 2,819,495 16.1%
1881 3,454,441 22.5%
1891an. 3,926,762 13.7%
1891ad. 3,896,554 −0.8%
1901 4,372,688 12.2%
1911 4,761,534 8.9%
1921 4,932,951 3.6%
1931 5,039,455 2.2%
Note: 1801-1891 Ancient county, 1891-1931 Administrative county
Source: 1931 Census
 


Census Records of Lancashire

To search for ancestry in Lancashire census records, first search for indexes. These are available at several online locations including thegenealogist.co.uk, findmypast.com, ancestry.co.uk, Britishorigins.com, FamilyRelative.co.uk and others as well on microfilm at the Lancashire Record Office, The Family History Library, The Society of Genealogists as well as The National Archives, Kew. For online (free) sites, also see FHLFavorites.info (click "England", then "Lancashire" and then "Census" for additional census transcriptions and indexes for Lancashire). 

Lancashire census records have been indexed and transcribed countywide, and made available online by the following subscription web sites for the census years, 1841-1911:

Click here (Lancashire Census Surname Index main page) to see a list of the census surname indexes for local places and parishes in this county acquired by and available at the Family History Library.

The Manchester and Lancashire Family History Society have compiled transcriptions to a rare set of the--as yet--largely inaccessible "unfilmed 1851 census" of Lancashire and have made these available for purchase. They are now available at the Family History Library (but not its satellite family history centers). They include the following Lancashire townships and parishes:

Transcript of the unfilmed 1851 census returns, Ardwick HO107/2220
Transcript of the unfilmed 1851 census returns, Ashton-under-Lyne HO107/2233
Transcript of the unfilmed 1851 census returns, Chorlton on Medlock HO107/2220
Transcript of the unfilmed 1851 census returns, Hulme HO107/2221
Transcript of the unfilmed 1851 census returns, Manchester St. George HO 107/2230
Transcript of the unfilmed 1851 census returns, Pendleton & Pendlebury HO107/2222
Transcript of the unfilmed 1851 census returns, Prestwich, Blackley, and Harpurhey HO107/2232
Transcript of the unfilmed 1851 census returns, Salford Greengate HO107/2223
Transcript of the unfilmed 1851 census returns, Salford Regent Road

Click on the parish name to link to the FamilySearch Catalog entry for that parish.
Return to the Lancashire County page.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:15.
  • This page has been accessed 8,851 times.