Lancaster County, NebraskaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Lancaster County

Lancaster County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Nebraska
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19
Lancaster County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Lancaster County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 6, 1855
County Seat Lincoln
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Lancaster County Courthouse
555 S. 10th Street
Lincoln, Nebraska 68508
Phone: 402.441.7484

Contents

County Courthouse

Lancaster County Courthouse
555 S 10th Street
Lincoln, NE 68508
Phone: 402.441.7484

County Judge has marriage and probate records.
County Clerk has land records. [1]

History

Parent County

1855--Lancaster County was created 6 March 1855 from Cass and Pierce(old) Counties. County seat: Lincoln [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities and Villages

  • Lincoln
  • Hickman
  • Waverly
  • Bennet
  • Davey
  • Denton
  • Firth
  • Hallam
  • Malcolm
  • Panama
  • Raymond
  • Roca
  • Sprague

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Other cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Census

For tips on accessing Lancaster County, Nebraska census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Lancaster County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lancaster County, Nebraska. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps

Nelancaster.png

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lancaster County, Nebraska newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Adams - Probate records.

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lancaster County, Nebraska page 432, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 17:11.
  • This page has been accessed 6,509 times.